Formula E announces expanded 2017/18 calendar

Formula E in Marrakesh this season

Formula E is set to hold 14 races across 11 events in 2017/18 as part of an expanded calendar.

Santiago (Chile), Sao Paulo (Brazil), and Roma (Italy) have all been added to the calendar, while Monaco and Buenos Aires (Argentina) have dropped off, making for an extra two events and two races compared to 2016/17.

Germany’s race will be held at an as yet unconfirmed venue, while the following race is completely unallocated but expected to take place in Europe.

Hong Kong will again open the season but has been pushed back to the first weekend of December, the latest start in any of Formula E’s first four seasons.

The Asian city will also host a double-header after debuting with a single race in 2016/17.

Marrakesh again hosts the second event, now in the new year rather than November, before a trio of South American races.

The championship then heads to Europe, with the venue for the June 9 race not yet confirmed, before again finishing with double-headers in New York and Montreal.

The latter will again take place on the final weekend of July, making for a season of 34 weeks from start to finish (down from 42).

The 2016/17 Formula E season continues with the New York double-header on July 15-16.

2017/18 FIA Formula E Championship Calendar

Round City Country Date
1 Hong Kong China December 2
2 Hong Kong China December 3
3 Marrakesh Morocco January 13
4 Santiago Chile February 3
5 Mexico City Mexico March 3
6 Sao Paulo* Brazil March 17
7 Rome Italy April 14
8 Paris France April 28
9 TBA** Germany May 19
10 TBA** TBA** June 9
11 New York City USA July 7***
12 New York City USA July 8***
13 Montreal Canada July 28
14 Montreal Canada July 29

* Subject to confirmation

** Venue to be announced

*** Date to be confirmed

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]