Rutter wins Light TT at Isle of Man

Michael Rutter

Michael Rutter has taken an all-the-way victory in the Lightweight TT Race at the Isle of Man TT.

Rutter set a new lap record on his way to an 8.8s victory over Martin Jessopp, giving Italian manufacturer Paton its first win in the Isle of Man TT in the process.

The first lap of the 37.7mi (60.7km) circuit was a tight affair with Rutter holding a narrow advantage over team-mate Stefano Bonetti throughout.

Jessopp (Kawasaki) took up second position on the run to Glen Helen on Lap 2, with Bonetti by then locked in combat with Peter Hickman (Kawasaki) and James Cowton (Kawasaki).

Rutter had extended his advantage to over 10s with a sizzling lap of 120.362mph (193.704km/h) by the time he had to refuel at the end of Lap 2, but a slow pit stop cost him most of that lead.

Jessopp trailed by only 2.8s by the time the pair reached Glen Helen on Lap 3, but that was as close as he got for the rest of the four-lap race as Rutter responded to take his first win at the TT since 2013 and his fifth in total.

Hickman finished comfortably clear of fourth-placed Ivan Lintin (Kawasaki), who ran as high as third but lost time and the position when he made a helmet change at his pit stop.

Bonetti retired on Lap 2 at Creg-ny-Baa.

Earlier in the Superstock race, Ian Hutchinson (BMW) dominated the four-lap encounter for his second win of the race week, while Hickman (BMW) and Dan Kneen (BMW) rounded out the podium.

Hickman now has four podiums from as many starts at the 2017 Isle of Man TT.

The Thursday (local time) program sees Supersport Race 2 run over four laps, before a single-lap race for TT Zero.

Top 10: Bennetts Lightweight TT, 2017 Isle of Man TT

Pos No Rider Machine/Entrant Time
1 4 Michael Rutter Paton / Paton SC-Project Reparto Corse 01:16:19.324
2 3 Martin Jessopp Kawasaki / Riders Motorcycles 01:16:28.142
3 10 Peter Hickman Kawasaki / KMR Kawaski / IEG Racing 01:17:08.637
4 2 Ivan Lintin Kawasaki / Dafabet Devitt RC Express Raci 01:17:40.865
5 5 Daniel Cooper Kawasaki / KW Electrical Services by DCM 01:17:57.900
6 14 Joshua Brookes Kawasaki 01:18:23.270
7 6 Michael Dunlop Kawasaki / McAdoo Racing 01:18:30.418
8 8 James Cowton Kawasaki / McAdoo Racing Kawasaki 01:19:21.307
9 22 Michael Sweeney Kawasaki / Kiely Heating 01:20:10.134
10 30 Jamie Hodson Kawasaki / JGH Racing/Idesign kitchen & b 01:20:48.734

Top 10: RL360 Quantum Superstock TT, 2017 Isle of Man TT

Pos No Rider Machine/Entrant Time
1 4 Ian Hutchinson BMW / Tyco BMW 01:09:59.261
2 10 Peter Hickman BMW / Smiths Racing 01:10:21.684
3 14 Dan Kneen BMW / DTR powered by Penz 13 01:10:42.708
4 11 Michael Rutter BMW / Bathams SMT Racing 01:10:52.862
5 9 Dean Harrison Kawasaki / Silicone Engineering 01:10:54.002
6 6 Michael Dunlop Suzuki / MD Racing 01:11:03.037
7 15 William Dunlop Yamaha / Temple Golf Club 01:12:04.373
8 1 David Johnson BMW / Fleetwood Grab Services BMW 01:12:11.733
9 29 Jamie Coward BMW / Radcliffe’s Racing 01:12:39.386
10 22 Horst Saiger Kawasaki / Swiss Moto 01:12:58.409

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]