McLaughlin shoots to Race 10 pole at Winton

Scott McLaughlin

Scott McLaughlin secured his second Armor All pole position of the weekend after another impressive display at the Winton Super Sprint.

Saturday’s Race 9 winner, McLaughlin, stopped the clocks with a 1:19.07s during his second run, which was good enough to claim pole position ahead of today’s 200km heat.

The DJR Team Penske driver enjoyed a comfortable 0.3s margin over Red Bull Holden Racing Team’s Jamie Whincup, who enjoyed a brief spell at the top of the timesheets.

“The car was fantastic there and I feel like the track might have gone off at the end there, but I got a really good lap and that was our best lap of the weekend, so it’s always nice when you do it at the most important times,” said McLaughlin, after taking his sixth Armor All pole of the season.

Reigning champion Shane van Gisbergen (Triple Eight) threatened to snatch pole in the dying minutes, but the Kiwi failed to improve upon his third position.

The Monster Energy Prodrive Ford of Cameron Waters will join the New Zealander on the second row in fourth, while DJR Team Penske’s Fabian Coulthard could only manage fifth in the #12 Falcon.

Tekno Autosports Will Davison continued to impress in sixth while a late effort from Preston Hire Racing’s Lee Holdsworth saw him jump to seventh.

Prodrive’s Mark Winterbottom, Tim Slade (Brad Jones Racing) and Garth Tander (Garry Rogers Motorsport) completed the top 10.

Meanwhile, Chaz Mostert was notable absentee from the top 10 as he struggled to 17th position in his repaired Prodrive Falcon, after suffering a gearbox issue in Race 9.

He was two spots ahead of top wildcard runner Macauley Jones in a Brad Jones Racing prepared Commodore.

The Mobil 1 HSV Racing team’s struggles continued with James Courtney 21st and Scott Pye in 28th, while Craig Lowndes qualifying issues saw him slump to 26th spot.

Today’s 200km race is scheduled to start at 1345 local time.

Result: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Winton Super Sprint Race 10 Qualifying

1 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.0721*SS
2 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:19.4213 SS 00.3492
3 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:19.4446 SS 00.3725
4 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.4961 SS 00.4240
5 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.4963 SS 00.4242
6 TEKNO Woodstock Racing Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 1:19.5373 SS 00.4652
7 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:19.5801 SS 00.5080
8 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.6087 SS 00.5366
9 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:19.6123 SS 00.5402
10 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:19.6296 SS 00.5575
11 Sengled Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:19.6810 SS 00.6089
12 Freightliner/Alliance Truck Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:19.6911 SS 00.6190
13 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 1:19.7122 SS 00.6401
14 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:19.7419 SS 00.6698
15 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:19.8003 SS 00.7282
16 MEGA Racing Jason Bright Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.8375 SS 00.7654
17 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.8671 SS 00.7950
18 Team CoolDrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:19.9367 SS 00.8646
19 Drillpro Racing Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 1:19.9396 SS 00.8675
20 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Holden Commodore VF 1:20.0375 SS 00.9654
21 Mobil 1 HSV Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:20.0416 SS 00.9695
22 Loco Energy Drink Shae Davies Nissan Altima 1:20.1168 SS 01.0447
23 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VF 1:20.1461 SS 01.0740
24 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 1:20.1572 SS 01.0851
25 Erebus GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:20.2289 SS 01.1568
26 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:20.2867 SS 01.2146
27 Repair Management Aust Racing Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VF 1:20.4380 SS 01.3659
28 Mobil 1 HSV Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 1:20.6058 SS 01.5337
29 LD Motorsport Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF 1:20.8317 SS 01.7596

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]