Buemi wins Paris ePrix as Di Grassi crashes out

Mat Coch

Sunday 21st May, 2017 - 8:40am


Sebastien Buemi on his way to victory

Sebastien Buemi has won on the streets of Paris as he extended his lead in the FIA Formula E points standings after title rival Lucas di Grassi failed to finish.

Buemi controlled the race, and was extending his advantage over second placed Jean-Eric Vergne, who crashed out on lap 34 and brought about a Safety Car.

That promoted Jose-Maria Lopez into second while former Formula 1 driver Nick Heidfeld rounded out the podium.

Further down the order, Lucas di Grassi found himself caught up with Antonio Felix da Costa as they squabbled for 13th place.

The pair found themselves locked in battle just short of the halfway mark in the 49-lap race, and ultimately clashed at Turn 7 on lap 20.

Di Grassi had made a move around the outside of da Costa before sweeping back across the circuit to claim the apex, the duo tangling in the process.

Though Di Grassi was able to continue, the resulting caution period sparked a flurry of pit lane activity that would see Buemi regain his position at the head of the race.

A second incident for di Grassi in the closing laps to bring about another safety car, his chances having already been dashed courtesy of the earlier clash and a pit lane penalty for not observing the minimum stop time.

The result leaves Buemi 43-points clear of di Grassi in the championship with three rounds remaining; the next in Berlin next month.

Result: FIA Formula E Paris eprix

Position Driver Team Car Gap
1 Sebastien Buemi e.dams Renault 49 laps
2 Jose Maria Lopez Virgin DS-Virgin 0.707s
3 Nick Heidfeld Mahindra Mahindra 2.043s
4 Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra Mahindra 2.621s
5 Nicolas Prost e.dams Renault 3.521s
6 Robin Frijns Andretti Andretti 7.999s
7 Nelson Piquet Jr. NextEV NEXTEV TCR 32.420s
8 Tom Dillmann Venturi Venturi 32.929s
9 Mitch Evans Jaguar Jaguar 33.369s
10 Stephane Sarrazin Venturi Venturi 34.051s
11 Esteban Gutierrez Techeetah Renault 36.197s
12 Oliver Turvey NextEV NEXTEV TCR 40.082s
13 Daniel Abt Abt ABT Schaeffler 1 Lap
14 Mike Conway Dragon Penske 1 Lap
15 Adam Carroll Jaguar Jaguar 1 Lap
16 Sam Bird Virgin DS-Virgin 2 Laps
DNF Lucas di Grassi Abt ABT Schaeffler Retirement
DNF Jerome d’Ambrosio Dragon Penske Retirement
DNF Jean-Eric Vergne Techeetah Renault Retirement
DNF Antonio Felix da Costa Andretti Andretti Retirement

Championship Standings

Position Driver Points
1 Sebastien Buemi 132
2 Lucas di Grassi 89
3 Nicolas Prost 58
4 Nick Heidfeld 47
5 Jean-Eric Vergne 40
6 Felix Rosenqvist 40
7 Sam Bird 35
8 Nelson Piquet Jr. 33
9 Jose Maria Lopez 28
10 Daniel Abt 26
11 Robin Frijns 16
12 Mitch Evans 15
13 Oliver Turvey 15
14 Maro Engel 12
15 Antonio Felix da Costa 10
16 Jerome d’Ambrosio 10
17 Loic Duval 9
18 Esteban Gutierrez 5
19 Adam Carroll 4
20 Tom Dillmann 4
21 Stephane Sarrazin 2 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!