Lindgren breaks Speedway GP drought in Warsaw

Fredrik Lindgren (centre) with Maciej Janowski (left) and Jason Doyle (right)

Fredrik Lindgren has taken a first Speedway Grand Prix win in five years at the SGP of Poland, while Australian Jason Doyle finished third.

Lindgren beat Maciej Janowski in a thrilling final in Warsaw, extending his championship lead over Doyle.

The victory is just the second of Lindgren’s career, just short of half a decade since the Swede took out his home SGP in Gothenburg in May 2012.

“Right now I am just pumped with adrenaline,” said Lindgren.

“It’s so cool to ride in this stadium in front of all these people and perform like I did tonight.”

“I feel absolutely awesome. I have only won one GP before. This is so important for me.”

Janowski came up just short of what would have been the first win for a Pole on the home soil of Warsaw.

While Doyle was not in the fight for victory in the final, he was content to make the podium and move up to second in the points standings.

“It’s nice to finally be on the podium after going all the way in Slovenia and not making it on to the rostrum,” he said.

“What a race! You get to the final and it’s no holds barred. What a great ride from Freddie and Magic.

“They were throwing everything at each other and I just had to sit back and watch the show.”

Fellow Australian took a heat win on his way to 12th overall for the meeting.

Round 3 will be held in Daugavpils, Latvia on May 27.

World Championship Standings

1 Fredrik Lindgren 32, 2 Jason Doyle 27, 3 Martin Vaculik 26, 4 Maciej Janowski 22, 5 Patryk Dudek 22, 6 Tai Woffinden 21, 7 Bartosz Zmarzlik 18, 8 Niels-Kristian Iversen 18, 9 Emil Sayfutdinov 18, 10 Greg Hancock 15, 11 Piotr Pawlicki 14, 12 Chris Holder 12, 13 Matej Zagar 11, 14 Antonio Lindback 8, 15 Nicki Pedersen 8, 16 Przemyslaw Pawlicki 3, 17 Nick Skorja 1.

Lotto Warsaw SGP Of Poland Scores

1 Fredrik Lindgren 16, 2 Maciej Janowski 16, 3 Jason Doyle 15, 4 Martin Vaculik 10, 5 Tai Woffinden 13, 6 Bartosz Zmarzlik 12, 7 Patryk Dudek 9, 8 Niels-Kristian Iversen 9, 9 Piotr Pawlicki 7, 10 Chris Holder 6, 11 Emil Sayfutdinov 6, 12 Antonio Lindback 6, 13 Nicki Pedersen 5, 14 Greg Hancock 4, 15 Przemyslaw Pawlicki 3, 16 Matej Zagar 1, 17 Krystian Pieszczek DNR, 18 Pawel Przedpelski DNR.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]