Hamilton overcomes Vettel to win in Spain

Tom Howard

Sunday 14th May, 2017 - 11:57pm


Lewis Hamilton

Lewis Hamilton prevailed in a race-long battle with Sebastian Vettel to win an entertaining Spanish Grand Prix.

The three-time world champion was forced to come from behind having lost out to Vettel’s Ferrari during the opening stint of 66 lap race at the Circuit de Catalunya.

However, a slick two stop strategy saw Hamilton equipped with the softer, faster tyres for the last stint, which ultimately proved the difference against Vettel on the medium compound.

Hamilton took the lead with a pass on Vettel as the race reached its final third to set up the victory.

Vettel had an opportunity to challenge in the final laps as Hamilton’s tyres degraded, but had to settle for second, 3.4s adrift.

The final place on the podium was filled by Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo as the Australian scored his first rostrum of the year.

Ricciardo endured a lonely race with his RB13 outclassed by Mercedes and Ferrari, finishing more than minute behind.

Hamilton’s victory has seen him close to within six points of Vettel in the championship standings.

It proved to be a frantic start as Vettel managed to out drag Hamilton to take the lead at Turn 1, while chaos ensued behind.

Mercedes’ Valtteri Bottas dived down the inside at the corner but touched the right rear wheel of Kimi Raikkonen’s Ferrari, who in turn then collided with Red Bull’s Max Verstappen on his outside.

As a result, Raikkonen (broken steering) and Verstappen (damaged suspension) retired on the spot.

The action continued seconds later as Felipe Massa (Williams) touched McLaren’s Fernando Alonso, forcing the two-time world champion through the Turn 2 gravel trap, dropping him from seventh to 11th position.

Stewards investigated both incidents before deeming neither required any sanctions.

Vettel stormed into a healthy lead from Hamilton before electing to make his first stop on lap 14, switching to a fresher set of soft compound tyres.

Now in the lead, Hamilton managed to extend his opening stint for eight more laps before he ducked into the pits for the slower more durable medium tyres.

He rejoined behind Vettel and Mercedes team-mate Bottas, who was yet to stop.

Bottas, with his soft tyres struggling for grip, held up Vettel for several laps before the German jumped into the lead, while Hamilton soon passed his ailing team-mate.

The intriguing battle for the victory took another twist when Hamilton pitted under the Virtual Safety Car on lap 37, which was caused by Stoffel Vandoorne, who turned in on Massa at Turn 1, breaking his steering.

Vettel soon pitted a lap later which placed him narrowly ahead of Hamilton, although the Ferrari driver was utilising the slower medium tyres compared to his soft tyre shod rival.

Hamilton swarmed all over the rear of Vettel before completing a move for the lead around the outside of the Ferrari at Turn 1, with 22 laps remaining.

The Brit then maintained the advantage all the way to the chequered flag.

Meanwhile, Bottas suffered an engine failure which handed the final place on the podium to Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo.

The Australian endured a lonely race in fourth as Red Bull struggled for outright pace.

Force India outlined their speed with Sergio Perez heading his rookie team-mate Esteban Ocon for fourth.

Renault’s Nico Hulkenberg produced a faultless drive to finish sixth, while Sauber’s Pascal Wherein impressed on a one stop strategy to cross the finish line in seventh.

Carlos Sainz scored points in front of his home crowd in eighth, while Kevin Magnussen (Haas F1) surrendered ninth after suffering a puncture on the penultimate lap following contact with Daniil Kvyat.

Kvyat, who started from the final row of the grid, inherited ninth while the top 10 was completed by Romain Grosjean (Haas F1).

Alonso was unable to recover from his opening lap drama as he finished in 12th behind Marcus Ericsson (Sauber).

The championship continues at Monaco from May 25-28.

Result: Formula 1 Spanish Grand Prix

Pos Driver Car/Engine Laps Time/Gap
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 66 66 Laps
2 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 66 +3.490s
3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 66 +1:13.978s
4 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 65 1 Lap
5 Esteban Ocon Force India/Mercedes 65 1 Lap
6 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 65 1 Lap
7 Pascal Wehrlein Sauber/Ferrari 65 1 Lap
8 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Renault 65 1 Lap
9 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso/Renault 65 1 Lap
10 Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari 65 1 Lap
11 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 64 2 Laps
12 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda 64 2 Laps
13 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 64 2 Laps
14 Kevin Magnussen Haas/Ferrari 64 2 Laps
15 Jolyon Palmer Renault 64 2 Laps
16 Lance Stroll Williams/Mercedes 64 2 Laps
DNF Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 38 Power Unit
DNF Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren/Honda 32 Collision
DNF Max Verstappen Red Bull/Renault 1 Collision
DNF Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 0 Collision

Championship Standings

Position Driver Points
1 Sebastian Vettel 104
2 Lewis Hamilton 98
3 Valtteri Bottas 63
4 Kimi Raikkonen 49
5 Daniel Ricciardo 37
6 Max Verstappen 35
7 Sergio Perez 34
8 Esteban Ocon 19
9 Felipe Massa 18
10 Carlos Sainz 15
11 Nico Hulkenberg 14
12 Pascal Wehrlein 6
13 Romain Grosjean 5
14 Kevin Magnussen 4
15 Daniil Kvyat 4
16 Marcus Ericsson 0
17 Lance Stroll 0
18 Fernando Alonso 0
19 Antonio Giovinazzi 0
20 Jolyon Palmer 0
21 Stoffel Vandoorne 0 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!