Buemi holds off di Grassi for Monaco victory

Sunday 14th May, 2017 - 4:58am


Sebastien Buemi

Sebastien Buemi has beaten Lucas di Grassi in a grandstand finish to Round 5 of the FIA Formula E Championship in Monaco.

Di Grassi was on a charge as the 51-lap race drew to a close but couldn’t find a way past Buemi and crossed the line 0.3s adrift, while Nick Heidfeld was a distant third.

Having qualified on pole for the first time this season, Buemi converted at the start and drove away to a lead of exceeding 5s.

Di Grassi had also gapped Nelson Piquet Jr., who came under attack from Jean-Eric Vergne, and the matter came to a head on Lap 21.

Vergne (Techeetah) went to the outside of Piquet Jr. at the Turn 3 hairpin, the two collided, and the man who initiated the move ended up in the wall, necessitating the safety car.

That prompted all drivers to take their car change, before racing resumed on Lap 26.

From there, Buemi gradually built up a lead of 1.6s in his e.dams Renault, helped in part by FanBoost, but di Grassi closed the gap in the latter stages.

The ABT driver trailed by 0.4s with a lap to go and tried hard to find a way past but couldn’t do so, leaving Buemi to take his fourth win of the season and extend his championship lead to 15 points.

Heidfeld (Mahindra) finished 13.3s further back, having made up three positions around the outside of the pack at the first corner and then inheriting a podium position when Piquet Jr. and Vergne clashed.

Piquet Jr. (NextEV) salvaged fourth after he got back to pit lane for his car change having only lost the one position, beating Maro Engel in a tight battle.

Engel (Venturi) in turn had to keep Felix Rosenqvist (Mahindra) and Daniel Abt (ABT) at bay, while Esteban Gutierrez (Techeetah) inherited eighth after Robin Frijns (Andretti) ran out of energy on the final lap.

Nico Prost (e.dams) finished ninth while New Zealander Mitch Evans (Jaguar) rounded out the top 10.

Round 6 will be held on May 20 in Paris.

Results: FIA Formula E Championship, Monaco

Position Driver Team Car Time/Gap
1 Sebastien Buemi e.dams Renault 51:05.488s
2 Lucas di Grassi Abt ABT Schaeffler +0.320s
3 Nick Heidfeld Mahindra Mahindra +13.678s
4 Nelson Piquet Jr NextEV NEXTEV TCR +19.074s
5 Maro Engel Venturi Venturi +19.518s
6 Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra Mahindra +19.599s
7 Daniel Abt Abt ABT Schaeffler +20.430s
8 Esteban Gutierrez Techeetah Renault +32.295s
9 Nico Prost e.dams Renault +35.667s
10 Mitch Evans Jaguar Jaguar +38.410s
11 Antonio Felix da Costa Andretti Andretti +1:08.330s
12 Robin Frijns Andretti Andretti +1:14.053s
13 Oliver Turvey NextEV NEXTEV TCR +1 lap
14 Adam Carroll Jaguar Jaguar +1 lap
15 Stephane Sarrazin Venturi Venturi +2 laps
DNF Jose Maria Lopez Virgin DS-Virgin Retirement
DNF Jerome D’Ambrosio Dragon Penske Retirement
DNF Loic Duval Dragon Penske Retirement
DNF Sam Bird Virgin DS-Virgin Retirement
DNF Jean-Eric Vergne Techeetah Renault Retirement

Championship Standings

Position Driver Points
1 Sebastien Buemi 104
2 Lucas di Grassi 89
3 Nico Prost 48
4 Jean-Eric Vergne 40
5 Sam Bird 34
6 Nick Heidfeld 32
7 Felix Rosenqvist 28
8 Nelson Piquet Jr 27
9 Daniel Abt 26
10 Oliver Turvey 15
11 Mitch Evans 13
12 Maro Engel 12
13 Antonio Felix da Costa 10
14 Jose Maria Lopez 10
15 Jerome D’Ambrosio 10
16 Loic Duval 9
17 Robin Frijns 8
18 Esteban Gutierrez 5
19 Adam Carroll 4
20 Stephane Sarrazin 1
21 Ma Qinghua 0 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!