Hamilton fastest as Mercedes lead the way in Spain

Lewis Hamilton

Mercedes proved the class of the field as Lewis Hamilton headed team-mate Valtteri Bottas in Friday practice ahead of the Spanish Grand Prix.

Equipped with a raft of new upgrades, the Silvers Arrows produced a blistering pace as Hamilton, who topped opening practice, clocked a 1:20.80s to end the day 0.029s ahead of Bottas in the final 90 minute session.

Ferrari struggled to match Mercedes with Kimi Raikkonen leading the Maranello team’s charge in third, albeit 0.3s adrift of Hamilton.

Team-mate Sebastian Vettel was fourth a tenth further back in the sister SF70H.

Raikkonen’s long-run programme was interrupted briefly when he was called into the pits with a suspected engine problem.

While he did not encounter any further engine problems, Raikkonen did have a run-in with the Force India of Sergio Perez at Turn 5.

Trying to pass Perez around the outside, Raikkonen was forced to back out and subsequently radioed Ferrari saying he had been “pushed off”.

For his part, Vettel also had a late moment at Turn 4, a snap forcing him to drive out of the gravel.

Like Ferrari, Red Bull was closer to the pace in the afternoon session.

Last year’s Spanish GP, winner Max Verstappen was again ahead of team-mate Daniel Ricciardo, by one tenth and finishing 0.636s off Hamilton’s best despite a scrappy session.

Verstappen’s biggest incident of the afternoon was a slide and trip through the gravel at Turn 9 early, which the team attributed to a gust of wind.

Renault was close behind the Red Bulls, seventh-placed Nico Hulkenberg ending the session as the last driver within a second of Hamilton, while Jolyon Palmer was eighth, after stepping aside for Sergey Sirotkin for the morning.

Felipe Massa was ninth for Williams, while Carlos Sainz Jr completed the top 10, having caused a brief red flag an hour in when his Toro Rosso shed debris after running over the exit kerbs at Turn 9.

McLaren’s fortunes were mixed again, with Stoffel Vandoorne enjoying a reasonable session in 13th, while Fernando Alonso wound up 20th and last.

Alonso, who missed opening practice due to a Honda engine failure, only emerged half an hour into the session after an engine change, and had to wait longer to complete proper runs.

Having turned a session-low 21 laps, Alonso ranted on the radio at one stage that: “The engine feels good. Much slower than before. Amazing.”

Result: Formula 1 Spanish Grand Prix Free Practice 2

Position Driver Car Time Gap Laps
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:20.802s 39
2 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1:20.892s 0.090s 38
3 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:21.112s 0.310s 34
4 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:21.220s 0.418s 36
5 Max Verstappen Red Bull/Renault 1:21.438s 0.636s 29
6 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 1:21.585s 0.783s 35
7 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 1:21.687s 0.885s 40
8 Jolyon Palmer Renault 1:21.992s 1.190s 43
9 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 1:22.015s 1.213s 38
10 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Renault 1:22.265s 1.463s 34
11 Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari 1:22.371s 1.569s 36
12 Esteban Ocon Force India/Mercedes 1:22.520s 1.718s 37
13 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren/Honda 1:22.693s 1.891s 36
14 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1:22.722s 1.920s 32
15 Kevin Magnussen Haas/Ferrari 1:23.007s 2.205s 32
16 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 1:23.082s 2.280s 37
17 Lance Stroll Williams/Mercedes 1:23.221s 2.419s 35
18 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso/Renault 1:23.236s 2.434s 27
19 Pascal Wehrlein Sauber/Ferrari 1:23.599s 2.797s 31
20 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda 1:24.077s 3.275s 21

Result: Formula 1 Spanish Grand Prix Free Practice 1

Position Driver Car Time Gap Laps
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:21.521s 28
2 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1:21.550s 0.029s 30
3 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:22.456s 0.935s 24
4 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:22.600s 1.079s 23
5 Max Verstappen Red Bull/Renault 1:22.706s 1.185s 22
6 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 1:23.084s 1.563s 17
7 Kevin Magnussen Haas/Ferrari 1:23.670s 2.149s 22
8 Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari 1:23.758s 2.237s 23
9 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 1:23.993s 2.472s 24
10 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Renault 1:24.004s 2.483s 21
11 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1:24.188s 2.667s 23
12 Esteban Ocon Force India/Mercedes 1:24.324s 2.803s 22
13 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren/Honda 1:24.400s 2.879s 24
14 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 1:24.618s 3.097s 34
15 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso/Renault 1:24.642s 3.121s 18
16 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 1:24.966s 3.445s 23
17 Pascal Wehrlein Sauber/Ferrari 1:25.182s 3.661s 24
18 Lance Stroll Williams/Mercedes 1:25.919s 4.398s 34
19 Sergey Sirotkin Renault 1:26.293s 4.772s 10
20 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda 1

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]