Indy 500 entry list approaches 33 cars

Wednesday 10th May, 2017 - 12:16pm


Spencer Pigot

The Indianapolis 500 is close to filling a full field of 33 cars for this month’s 101st running after Spencer Pigot’s drive at Juncos Racing was confirmed.

Pigot’s entry brings the field to 31 cars, with reporting that a to be confirmed second Juncos entry for Sebastian Saavedra and Buddy Lazier’s drive at his own Lazier Partners Racing will complete the traditional 33 entry.

Pigot won the 2014 Pro Mazda Championship and 2015 Indy Lights series, the two rungs on the Road to Indy Ladder immediately below the IndyCar Series itself, with Juncos Racing, having also raced karts with the team during his childhood years.

“I’ve known Ricardo (Juncos, team principal) and everyone at the team since I was 10 or 11-years-old,” the 23-year-old told

“I started racing for Ricardo back when it was Juncos Competition, the very first iteration of the team, back driving go-karts around Florida.

“It’s really cool to see their progression all the way through go-karting, the Mazda Road to Indy and now IndyCar. We’ve shared a lot of success on that path.

“To now be reunited with them for their first Indy 500 and my second Indy 500, it’s something that if you would have told us back in the early 2000s when we were racing go-karts, I’m sure nobody would have believed.”

Pigot debuted in the Verizon IndyCar Series last year with Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing as part of his prize for winning Indy Lights, before signing for Ed Carpenter Racing.

Under a deal which has continued into 2017, Pigot competes in street and road course races in car #20 while Carpenter himself runs on ovals, meaning Pigot’s only previous oval start in the IndyCar Series was the 2015 Indianapolis 500.

Pigot will suit up for ECR at this weekend’s Indianapolis Grand Prix on the road course (May 12-13) before settling into the #11 Juncos Chevrolet for the 500, for which practice begins on May 15.

Indianapolis 500 entry list (Predicted)

1 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske Chevrolet
2 Josef Newgarden Team Penske Chevrolet
3 Helio Castroneves Team Penske Chevrolet
12 Will Power Team Penske Chevrolet
22 Juan Pablo Montoya Team Penske Chevrolet
4 Conor Daly AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet
14 Carlos Muñoz AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet
40 Zach Veach R AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet
5 James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda
7 Mikhail Aleshin Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda
77 Jay Howard Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda
8 Max Chilton Chip Ganassi Racing Honda
9 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Honda
10 Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing Honda
83 Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing Honda
11 Spencer Pigot Juncos Racing Chevrolet
TBA Sebastian Saavedra Juncos Racing Chevrolet TBC
15 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda
16 Oriol Servia Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda
18 Sebastien Bourdais Dale Coyne Racing Honda
19 Ed Jones R Dale Coyne Racing Honda
63 Pippa Mann Dale Coyne Racing Honda
20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet
21 JR Hildebrand Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet
24 Sage Karam Dreyer & Reinbold Chevrolet
26 Takuma Sato Andretti Autosport Honda
27 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Honda
28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Honda
29 Fernando Alonso R Andretti Autosport Honda
50 Jack Harvey R Andretti Autosport Honda
98 Alexander Rossi Andretti Autosport Honda
88 Gabby Chaves Harding Racing Chevrolet
TBA Buddy Lazier Lazier Partners Racing Chevrolet TBC comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!