McLaughlin edges Mostert to Armor All pole

Scott McLaughlin

Scott McLaughlin scored his fourth Armor All pole position of the season after edging Prodrive’s Chaz Mostert in a hotly contested session at Babargallo Raceway.

McLaughlin pumped in a record 54.57 effort with six minutes of the 20 minute hit-out remaining which proved just enough to claim pole.

The DJR Team Penske driver jumped out of his car while the majority of the field completed their final runs.

“I was a bit worried but thankfully held onto it. I felt that that lap was basically all I could get out of it, and if anyone could beat me, good on them. I’m stoked,” said McLaughlin.

A flurry of fast times in the dying moments saw Mostert climb to second just 0.04s shy of McLaughlin.

“It is the best the car has felt all weekend,” said Mostert.

“Yesterday didn’t go to plan, the race car didn’t feel quite well and the qualifying car, but the boys did a brilliant job overnight to tidy this thing up and get the car back to feeling like it has the last couple of rounds.

“Overall I’m really ecstatic, Front row feels like a pole position after yesterday, see if we can put a little bit more pressure on those Shell guys.”

Prodrive enjoyed a much stronger showing in qualifying with Mark Winterbottom heading up the second row in third ahead of top Red Bull HRT runner Shane van Gisbergen.

Saturday’s pole-sitter Fabian Coulthard could only manage fifth in the sister #12 DJRTP Falcon.

The Kiwi will share the third row with Jamie Whincup in the #88 Red Bull HRT Commodore.

Prodrive’s Jason Bright produced an encouraging display to secure seventh ensuring three of the team’s Falcons were inside the top 10.

The top 10 was completed by Tekno Autosports Will Davison, Nissan Motorsport’s Rick Kelly and Erebus Motorsport’s David Reynolds.

Craig Lowndes was unable to match his Triple Eight team-mates in 18th, while worse was to befall Mobil 1 HSV Racing’s James Courtney, who was mired in 20th spot.

Simona de Silvestro qualified in 22nd position but will be relegated to the back of the grid following her five-place grid penalty.

She will share the final row of the grid with Supercars debutant Matthew Brabham.

“I feel like I am getting the reputation of being the dirtiest driver out there a little bit (she chuckles),” said de Silvestro.

“It was a weird situation I kind of got put in because everyone was kind of slow trying to find a gap.

“I saw Chaz coming with lights but he wasn’t really on a lap.  It is frustrating to get a penalty and things like that.

“I think today the same thing happened to somebody else, so we will see if they get a penalty as well.

“It is what it is, just have to start from the back this weekend and just move forward.”

Supercars will return for Race 8 (200km) at 1415 local time.

Results: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship – Perth Super Sprint, Qualifying for Race 8

1 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 0:54.5730RSS
2 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 0:54.6209rSS 00.0479
3 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 0:54.6243rSS 00.0513
4 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 0:54.6568rSS 00.0838
5 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 0:54.8016 SS 00.2286
6 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 0:54.8022 SS 00.2292
7 MEGA Racing Jason Bright Ford Falcon FG/X 0:54.8636 SS 00.2906
8 TEKNO Woodstock Racing Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 0:55.0063 SS 00.4333
9 Sengled Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 0:55.0121 SS 00.4391
10 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 0:55.0274 SS 00.4544
11 BIANTE 1:1 Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 0:55.0839 SS 00.5109
12 Mobil 1 HSV Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 0:55.0998 SS 00.5268
13 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 0:55.1500 SS 00.5770
14 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 0:55.1713 SS 00.5983
15 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Holden Commodore VF 0:55.1883 SS 00.6153
16 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 0:55.2179 SS 00.6449
17 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 0:55.2546 SS 00.6816
18 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 0:55.2802 SS 00.7072
19 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 0:55.2932 SS 00.7202
20 Mobil 1 HSV Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 0:55.3239 SS 00.7509
21 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 0:55.4050 SS 00.8320
22 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 0:55.4652 SS 00.8922
23 Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF 0:55.6209 SS 01.0479
24 Team CoolDrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 0:55.6302 SS 01.0572
25 Erebus GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 0:55.6917 SS 01.1187
26 Repair Management Aust Racing Matthew Brabham Holden Commodore VF 0:56.6186 SS 02.0456

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]