McLaughlin strikes in DJRTP Barbagallo 1-2

Tom Howard

Saturday 6th May, 2017 - 5:51pm


Scott McLaughlin

Scott McLaughlin claimed his first points paying win for DJR Team Penske as he headed Fabian Coulthard in a dominant display for the team in Race 7 at the Perth Super Sprint.

McLaughlin managed to make the jump on his pole-sitting team-mate Coulthard which set the tone for the remainder of the 50 lap race.

The Kiwi managed to maintain the advantage after the flurry of pit stops while preserving his tyre life to lead Coulthard home in front of Team Penske boss Roger Penske.

The Red Bull Holdens proved the best of the rest with Jamie Whincup coming home in third 7.4s adrift of McLaughlin, while van Gisbergen finished fourth.

“The car was fantastic. I heard Ludo there and I thought he said ‘pit’ and I don’t think he meant it so we’re going to have to get my Frenglish better so we’ll work on it,” said McLaughlin.

“It’s just been amazing and to do it, one-two, in front of Roger (Penske) is pretty cool too, so having Fabs alongside me is a great start to the year.

“It’d be nice (if Roger Penske came to every race) but he’s got a busy schedule.”

The DJR Team Penske flew out of the blocks with McLaughlin leading Coulthard on the run to the first corner.

After surviving an investigation into a possible jump start, McLaughlin and Coulthard bolted away from the Red Bull HRT duo of Shane van Gisbergen and Jamie Whincup.

The Shell Ford set a blistering pace as the entire field toured under the race lap record at the venue.

McLaughlin managed to open up a two second gap from Coulthard as the DJRTP duo were more than seven second clear of the Red Bulls of Whincup and Van Gisbergen, who were pursued by Prodrive’s Chaz Mostert and Mark Winterbottom.

The reigning champion allowed Whincup through to third having struggled for pace in the early laps.

Coulthard was the first of the DJRTP cars to pit having dropped three second adrift of McLaughlin who pitted a lap later.

McLaughlin emerged ahead of Coulthard following the stops while Whincup slotted into a net third ahead of charging Mostert, who was the first of the lead group to pit on lap 21.

Van Gisbergen briefly dropped behind Erebus Motorsport’s David Reynolds and Will Davison (Tekno Autosports), before fighting back to climb back to a net fifth.

At the front McLaughlin was unable to move away from Coulthard with just 0.7s separating the pair following the stops.

Whincup was unable to make any serious inroads on the Fords ahead but was able to pull away from Mostert who fell into the clutches of van Gisbergen.

As the laps ticked by van Gisbergen moved ever closer eventually passing the Falcon for fourth on lap 44 at the final corner.

After pitting later than the rest of the front runners, Winterbottom made use of his fresher tyres to climb through the ranks to claim fifth as Mostert slid to sixth.

Craig Lowndes was among those to benefit from better tyre life in the closing stages as he surged to seventh by the chequered flag.

Davison brought his Tekno Autosports Holden in eighth, while Reynolds’ strong run continued in ninth.

The top 10 was completed by Garth Tander (GRM) who headed Todd Kelly (Nissan Motorsport) and James Moffat in the sister GRM Commodore.

Mobil 1 HSV Racing’s James Courtney emerged from a four wide battle on the finish straight to come home in 17th spot.

Supercars debutant Matthew Brabham finished his first race in the category in 25th position.

Results: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship – Perth Super Sprint, Race 7

1 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 50 48:58.8956
2 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 50 49:00.1951
3 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 50 49:06.3782
4 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 50 49:11.6775
5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 50 49:12.2020
6 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 50 49:16.8551
7 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 50 49:18.2662
8 TEKNO Woodstock Racing Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 50 49:20.8830
9 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 50 49:23.0002
10 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 50 49:23.4716
11 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 50 49:24.4844
12 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Holden Commodore VF 50 49:26.7250
13 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 50 49:30.2678
14 Sengled Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 50 49:33.8517
15 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 50 49:36.8448
16 MEGA Racing Jason Bright Ford Falcon FG/X 50 49:37.2918
17 Mobil 1 HSV Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 50 49:38.6587
18 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 50 49:38.7426
19 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 50 49:38.8254
20 Mobil 1 HSV Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 50 49:38.8136
21 Erebus GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 50 49:41.0904
22 BIANTE 1:1 Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 50 49:43.8409
23 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 50 49:45.7231
24 Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF 49 49:03.7553
25 Repair Management Aust Racing Matthew Brabham Holden Commodore VF 49 49:07.3460
26 Team CoolDrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 48 49:41.9392

Championship Standings

1 Fabian Coulthard 706
2 Shane Van Gisbergen 681
3 Jamie Whincup 651
4 Chaz Mostert 633
5 Scott McLaughlin 621
6 Mark Winterbottom 528
7 Garth Tander 522
8 Cameron Waters 475
9 Craig Lowndes 474
10 David Reynolds 444
11 James Moffat 435
12 Tim Slade 414
13 Michael Caruso 408
14 James Courtney 390
15 Todd Kelly 385
16 Lee Holdsworth 381
17 Rick Kelly 369
18 Scott Pye 342
19 Simona De Silvestro 309
20 Jason Bright 285
21 Nick Percat 249
22 Will Davison 240
23 Tim Blanchard 237
24 Dale Wood 215
25 Taz Douglas 144
26 Alex Rullo 138
27 Matthew Brabham  30 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!