Jason White clinches sixth Targa Tasmania crown

Saturday 29th April, 2017 - 3:04pm


Jason White/John White pic: Angryman Photography

Jason White has won the Targa Tasmania for a sixth time after a solid final day around Hobart.

Michael Pritchard was on the pace again, after a stunning performance on Day 5, and while he was 33s quicker than White across the day’s six stages, it was only enough to halve the advantage.

Instead, White held a 34s lead at the end of the 35th and final stage, adding to wins for he and his navigator uncle John White in 2005, 2010, 2012, 2013, and 2015.

“We were just so lucky with the way it all played out – it was just incredible,” Jason White said.

“I’ve done Targa 20 times and we’ve won it six times and had it taken away from us when we were leading as many times, so luck does play a part and you can never feel like you’ve got it in the bag.

“We’re well aware of how cruel Targa can be, so you never count your chickens until you’re at the finish, so it’s a great feeling this year, I can tell you.

Matt Close, who won last year’s edition, finished third.

Jon and Gina Siddins finished a remarkable ninth overall in their 1970 Datsun 240Z, topping the Classic GT class by nearly 10 minutes.

“We can’t believe how well we’ve done overall – the car’s had a few issues, but we’ve still had a great event,” said Jon Siddins.

Targa Tasmania: 2017 Results


  1. Jason White / John White, 2016 Dodge Viper ACR Extreme
  2. Michael Pritchard / Gary Mourant, 2016 Dodge Viper ACR, +34s
  3. Matt Close / Cameron Reeves, 2017 Porsche GT3RS, +1m16s
  4. Paul Stokell / Jenny Cole, 2014 Lotus Exige, +7m54s
  5. Tony Quinn / Naomi Tillett, Porsche GT3, +8m43s
  6. Craig Dean / Kate Catford, 2015 Ford Mustang Shelby GT, +8m48s
  7. Tim Hendy / Julie Winton-Monet, 2016 Porsche GT4, +10m28s
  8. Angus Kennard / Ian Wheeler, 2015 Nissan GTR, +11m05s
  9. Jon Siddins / Gina Siddins, 1970 Datsun 240Z, +11m45s
  10. Adam Kaplan/Aleshia Penney, 2004 BMW M3 CSL, +12m37s

Wrest Point GT2

  1. Jason White / John White, 2016 Dodge Viper ACR Extreme
  2. Michael Pritchard / Gary Mourant, 2016 Dodge Viper ACR, +34s
  3. Matt Close / Cameron Reeves, 2017 Porsche GT3RS, +1m16s

RDA Brakes GT4

  1. Angus Kennard / Ian Wheeler, 2015 Nissan GTR
  2. Joshua Hilton / Rodney Vanderpoel, 2016 Nissan GTR R35, +4m38s
  3. Barrie Smith / Jan Smith, 2010 Audi TT RS, +6m48s

Shannons Classic

  1. Peter Ullrich / Sari Ullrich, 1963 Jensen CV8
  2. David Gilliver / Nigel Shellshear, 1979 Ferrari 308 GTS, +6m18s
  3. Richard Woodward / Neil Gibson, 1969 Holden Monaro GTS, +6m33s

Shannons Classic GT

  1. Jon Siddins / Gina Siddins, 1970 Datsun 240Z
  2. Craig Haysman / Julie Boorman, 1979 Triumph TR7 V8, +9m25s
  3. Michael Bray / Daniel Bray, 1975 Holden Torana, +13m07s

Duttons Garage Early Modern

  1. Adam Kaplan / Aleshia Penney, 2004 BMW M3 CSL
  2. Jon Mitchell / Joshua Sutclife, 2006 Subaru S204, +3m32s
  3. Guy Lilleyman / John Lilleyman, 2006 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo, +6m44s

Country Club GT Sports Trophy

  1. Jeff Morton / Dennis Neagle, 2017 Lotus Exige
  2. Jeff Beable / Nerida Beable, 2000 Nissan Skyline, +10m28s
  3. Martin Duursma / Richard Wodhams, 2013 Lotus Exige S V6, +13m56s

TSD Trophy

  1. Darryl Marshall / Peter Marshall, 2002 Ford Falcon Ute Pursuit 250, 85 points
  2. Christopher Waldock / Christine Kirby, 2016 Jaguar F-Type SVR AWD, 191 points (=2nd)
  3. Peter Lucas / Angela Coradine, 1984 Porsche Carrera, 191 points (=2nd)

VIDEO: Day 6 Highlights comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!