McLaughlin sets blistering pace to score Race 6 pole

Tom Howard

Sunday 23rd April, 2017 - 11:27am


Scott McLaughlin

Scott McLaughlin produced a stunning lap to claim the Armor All pole position for Race 6 at the WD-40 Phillip Island 500.

The DJR Team Penske sat atop the times for the majority of the session before unleashing a blistering 1:29.06s effort in the dying moments of qualifying.

McLaughlin’s fastest ever Supercar lap at the circuit was an impressive 0.28s faster than his nearest rival and team-mate Fabian Coulthard, who secured another front row lockout for the Shell V Power Racing Team.

“That was fun,” said McLaughlin.

“I love this track and have a great car and a great team behind me.

“My car was sensational. It suited me so well, a bit of a slide but it was a lot of fun.

“There’s no such thing as the perfect lap but that was close.”

Jamie Whincup headed the Triple Eight charge in third with the six-time champion joined on the second row by Mark Winterbottom, courtesy of a last gasp effort.

Prodrive backed up their strong pace on Saturday with Cameron Waters and Chaz Mostert occupying the third row.

Craig Lowndes placed his TeamVortex Commodore in seventh spot ahead of reigning champion Shane van Gisbergen, who struggled for grip during the hit-out.

“We had a pretty good qualifying car yesterday and we didn’t maximise it today,” said van Gisbergen.

“We changed back a little bit for the last run but for us, by our standards, not very good.

“Hopefully it will pay back in the race though, we are a little more conservative than we would be, but yeah we will see.

“Balance was really good, just the grip was not there, pretty frustrating when it was not there, we are missing something but we will get there.”

Nissan Motorsport’s Michael Caruso managed to sneak into the top 10 in ninth ahead of team-mate Rick Kelly.

Erebus Motorsport’s David Reynolds just missed out on the top 10 in 11th position, while Tim Slade was the fastest Brad Jones Racing pilot in 12th spot.

Simona de Silvestro continued her encouraging showing in P21 as she out-qualified Dale Wood, James Moffat, Tim Blanchard, Alex Rullo and Taz Douglas.

Today’s 250km heat is set to begin at 1350 AEST.

Result: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship WD-40 Phillip Island 500 Race 6 Qualifying

1 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 1:29.0621RS
2 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 1:29.3462rS 00.2841
3 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:29.4060 S 00.3439
4 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:29.6765 S 00.6144
5 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:29.7032 S 00.6411
6 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:29.7236 S 00.6615
7 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:29.8470 S 00.7849
8 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:29.9305 S 00.8684
9 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:29.9915 S 00.9294
10 Sengled Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:30.0638 S 01.0017
11 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 1:30.0663 S 01.0042
12 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:30.0694 S 01.0073
13 Mobil 1 HSV Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:30.1206 S 01.0585
14 MEGA Racing Jason Bright Ford Falcon FG/X 1:30.1857 S 01.1236
15 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:30.2988 S 01.2367
16 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:30.3133 S 01.2512
17 TEKNO Woodstock Racing Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 1:30.3958 S 01.3337
18 Mobil 1 HSV Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 1:30.4078 S 01.3457
19 BIANTE 1:1 Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:30.4605 S 01.3984
20 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:30.5572 S 01.4951
21 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 1:30.6349 S 01.5728
22 Erebus GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:30.6834 S 01.6213
23 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Holden Commodore VF 1:30.7036 S 01.6415
24 Team CoolDrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:30.9313 S 01.8692
25 Repair Management Aust Racing Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF 1:31.2149 S 02.1528
26 Repair Management Aust Racing Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VF 1:31.3978 S 02.3357 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!