De Pasquale wins Super2 Race 4 after Le Brocq tyre blowout

Anton de Pasquale

Anton de Pasquale has taken his first race and round wins in the final race of Round 3 of the Dunlop Super2 Series at Phillip Island after Jack Le Brocq lost a tyre while leading.

Le Brocq looked set to take over the series lead with his third race win of the weekend before the right-rear tyre on car #28 gave way at the end of Gardner Straight on Lap 10.

De Pasquale inherited the lead and survived a restart, the Safety Car having been called for the tyre debris, to take victory ahead of Shae Davies and Paul Dumbrell.

Le Brocq had won the start and gradually pulled away to a 2s lead.

The aftermath of Le Brocq’s tyre failure

The GoGetta Altima had led all but the final lap of Race 1 until the tyre gave way, but his MW Motorsport crew scrambled to get Le Brocq back on track and finish 21st.

“We had a green tyre on for that race and we’d had zero signs from any other tyre conditions so it came out of the blue for us,” said team owner Matthew White.

There was even further hardship post-race when Le Brocq was slapped with a 50-point penalty (subsequently reduced to 35 points) for leaving pit lane while the red light was on due to the Safety Car leading the field onto the main straight.

For de Pasquale, who returned home from a successful stint in Europe due to budget constraints last year, there was joy.

“It was a hard last race, I obviously got a bit lucky with Jack, but we were in it all weekend,” said the Paul Morris Motorsport protégé.

“We got better as the weekend went on so I’m rapt for myself and the boys. We worked hard for it, so it’s a good day.”

Davies had not the pace to challenge the #67 Falcon and finished second, while Dumbrell held out Todd Hazelwood to finish third.

Garry Jacobson was in the thick of the early action with Will Brown and Kurt Kostecki, those three ultimately finishing fifth through seventh respectively.

The trio even rubbed panels as they went three-wide through the Turn 4 Hairpin on Lap 2.

Richard Muscat, Macauley Jones, and Josh Kean rounded out the top 10, while Jack Perkins finally got past steering rack issues to take 13th.

The second-generation racer was also cleared of wrongdoing after turning Jake Kostecki around at Southern Loop on Lap 3.

Jake Kostecki had an even wilder moment on the final lap when he was tipped into a spin at Doohan Corner by Jack Smith.

Dumbrell has extended his series lead ahead of Round 4 at the Townsville 400 from July 7-9.

Results: Race 4, Round 3, Phillip Island

1 Paul Morris Motorsports Anton de Pasquale Ford Falcon FG/X 14 26:37.8508
2 LOCO Energy Drink / MWM Shae Davies Nissan Altima 14 26:38.6867
3 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 14 26:40.0513
4 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore VF 14 26:40.6302
5 McQuinn Electrical Garry Jacobson Ford Falcon FG/X 14 26:41.0891
6 Eggleston Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore VF 14 26:41.9125
7 Arcoplate Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 14 26:42.1727
8 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Richard Muscat Holden Commodore VF 14 26:43.3573
9 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 14 26:43.7223
10 Wynns Josh Kean Ford Falcon FG/X 14 26:44.1007
11 Sprint Cutting Racing Brodie Kostecki Ford Falcon FG 14 26:44.8727
12 Alliance Truck Parts Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 14 26:45.5654
13 Dragon Motor Racing Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF 14 26:46.5689
14 Auto One Racing Adam Marjoram Holden Commodore VF 14 26:47.0037
15 Middys Electrical / MWM Bryce Fullwood Ford Falcon FG 14 26:47.4075
16 Eggleston Motorsport Nathan Morcom Holden Commodore VF 14 26:47.6618
17 Falcon Spares & Repairs Matthew Chahda Holden Commodore VF 14 26:48.5440
18 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Mason Barbera Holden Commodore VF 14 26:49.2508
19 GoGetta Racing/ MWM Jack Le Brocq Nissan Altima 14 26:49.4913
20 Team Caltex Renee Gracie Holden Commodore VF 14 26:51.2389
21 STR Truck Bodies & Trailers Matthew Palmer Ford Falcon FG 14 26:54.5015
22 SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore VF 14 27:17.2177
23 Arcoplate Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 14 27:19.2773

Round results

1 Anton de Pasquale 264
2 Shae Davies 261
3 Paul Dumbrell 244
4 Jack Le Brocq 243
5 Todd Hazelwood 218
6 Richard Muscat 196
7 William Brown 181
8 Garry Jacobson 175
9 Macauley Jones 171
10 Josh Kean 132
11 Nathan Morcom 132
12 Jake Kostecki 130
13 Kurt Kostecki 126
14 Andrew Jones 125
15 Brodie Kostecki 124
16 Bryce Fullwood 115
17 Jack Smith 115
18 Mason Barbera 111
19 Matthew Chahda  98
20 Renee Gracie  96
21 Adam Marjoram  83
22 Matthew Palmer  71
23 Jack Perkins  60

Series points (Updated)

1 Paul Dumbrell 815
2 Todd Hazelwood 779
3 Jack Le Brocq 734
4 Shae Davies 576
5 William Brown 555
6 Anton de Pasquale 521
7 Garry Jacobson 520
8 Andrew Jones 494
9 Macauley Jones 445
10 Jack Perkins 426
11 Nathan Morcom 415
12 Richard Muscat 410
13 Kurt Kostecki 376
14 Jake Kostecki 325
15 Brodie Kostecki 302
16 Josh Kean 301
17 Renee Gracie 300
18 Matthew Chahda 294
19 Mason Barbera 290
20 Bryce Fullwood 273
21 Matthew Palmer 252
22 Adam Marjoram 220
23 Jack Smith 198

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]