McLaughlin pips Coulthard to Armor All Race 5 pole

Scott McLaughlin edged DJR Team Penske team-mate Fabian Coulthard to the Armor All pole position for the opening 250km heat of the WD-40 Phillip Island 500.

The Shell V Power Racing Falcons once again showed their growing strength as McLaughlin lowered the practice and qualifying record at the Victorian venue.

McLaughlin posted his session best on his third and final run, clocking a 1:29.36s effort, which proved to be 0.11s faster than his opposite number Coulthard.

It was the first pole position for DJR at the circuit since 1993.

“I love this place as much as the penguins, it is awesome,” said McLaughlin.

“The car was fantastic there and we just had a crack and it was fun.

“It is great for the team, Fabs is right there next to me, it will be a fun run to turn one and we will see how we go.”

Reigning champion Shane van Gisbergen led the Triple Eight charge with the Kiwi third fastest.

He will share the second row with the #5 Prodrive Falcon of Mark Winterbottom, who is showing signs of a resurgence after two challenging meetings in Adelaide and Tasmania.

Team-mate Chaz Mostert was fifth while Cameron Waters put a third Prodrive Falcon inside the top 10 in seventh.

Six-time Supercars champion Jamie Whincup managed to split the Prodrive Falcons in sixth.

Erebus Motorsport continued its impressive recent form with David Reynolds in eighth spot, ahead of James Courtney (Mobil 1 HSV Racing) and Brad Jones Racing’s Tim Slade.

Rick Kelly emerged as the top Nissan in 11th position, while Craig Lowndes could only secure 15th spot in his rebuilt Triple Eight Commodore.

“We lacked a session to try and set-up for today, for this morning and we just struggled with the rear,” said Lowndes.

“The front of the car was brilliant, we can get it into corners, we can brake deep, just the high speed stuff we just can’t get it on or flow it off that last corner.

“We are losing some time there, off turn one as well, Hayshed is okay, a little loose over Lukey Heights.

“We made adjustments through those three runs but not enough to cure the problem.”

The injured Will Davison qualified in 17th in front of Simona de Silvestro, who will start from 23rd ahead of Tim Blanchard, Alex Rullo and Taz Douglas.

The field will contest a 250km race at 1545 AEST.

Results: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship, WD-40 Phillip Island 500, Race 5 Qualifying

1 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 1:29.3632RS
2 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 1:29.4820rS 00.1188
3 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:29.6445 S 00.2813
4 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:29.7708 S 00.4076
5 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:29.8323 S 00.4691
6 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:29.8524 S 00.4892
7 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:30.0147 S 00.6515
8 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 1:30.1000 S 00.7368
9 Mobil 1 HSV Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:30.1139 S 00.7507
10 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:30.1432 S 00.7800
11 Sengled Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:30.2552 S 00.8920
12 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:30.3193 S 00.9561
13 Mobil 1 HSV Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 1:30.3893 S 01.0261
14 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:30.3913 S 01.0281
15 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:30.4005 S 01.0373
16 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Holden Commodore VF 1:30.4268 S 01.0636
17 TEKNO Woodstock Racing Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 1:30.4962 S 01.1330
18 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:30.5271 S 01.1639
19 BIANTE 1:1 Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:30.5400 S 01.1768
20 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:30.5516 S 01.1884
21 MEGA Racing Jason Bright Ford Falcon FG/X 1:30.5728 S 01.2096
22 Erebus GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:30.5878 S 01.2246
23 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 1:30.8237 S 01.4605
24 Team CoolDrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:31.0498 S 01.6866
25 Repair Management Aust Racing Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF 1:31.8221 S 02.4589
26 Repair Management Aust Racing Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VF 1:32.1311 S 02.7679

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]