Mostert blitzes second practice at PI

Tom Howard

Friday 21st April, 2017 - 4:17pm


Chaz Mostert

Chaz Mostert posted a blistering effort to emerge fastest in the second practice session at the WD-40 Phillip Island 500.

The Supercheap Auto Racing driver smashed the circuit practice and qualifying lap record by posting a 1:29.57s effort, which proved to be 0.2s quicker than nearest rival Shane van Gisbergen.

“The boys gave me a pretty awesome car out there, I still think there is a little bit more in it,” said Mostert.

“I need to find a bit more of a aero balance around here.

“(I am) shocked to be at the pointy end, I thought it was going to be really tight, but my car is feeling really good.”

The top eight cars all posted times under the existing lap record benchmark.

Van Gisbergen shot to the top of the times towards the end of the session after suffering a right front tyre failure midway through the hit-out.

The reigning champion had his tyre let go on the entry to Turn 1 but was able to nurse the car back to the pits.

DJR Team Penske’s Scott McLaughlin was third fastest in the #17 Falcon which was the last of three cars in the 1:29s bracket.

Nissan Motorsport’s Michael Caruso improved late on to claim fourth ahead of Prodrive’s Cameron Waters.

Prodrive enjoyed a strong session with Mark Winterbottom showing encouraging signs in sixth.

Fabian Coulthard (DJR Team Penske) had topped the times before sliding down to seventh in the closing stages.

Co-driver Tony D’Alberto jumped behind the wheel to cut laps as the session reached its climax.

The top 10 was completed by Lee Holdsworth (Preston Hire Commodore) ahead of Jamie Whincup (Red Bull HRT) and David Reynolds (Erebus Motorsport), who headed first practice.

Will Davison finished the session in 13th position behind Mobil 1 HSV Racing’s James Courtney.

Simona de Silvestro ended the day in 22nd position on her debut at the circuit, ahead of Tim Blanchard (Brad Jones Racing), Taz Douglas (Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport) and Alex Rullo (Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport).

Craig Lowndes was forced to sit out the session due to the damage incurred on his #888 TeamVortex Commodore following a high speed crash in opening practice.

“It does (put us behind for the weekend), it is one of those things where we will obviously rely heavily on the guys next door tomorrow as we go straight into qualifying,” said Lowndes.

“We will see what the weather does. The good thing is the front is going back together, but the rear has still got a lot of work to go.

“(There is a) lot of the fabrication sort of side of things (to do) on the back end, more tin work.”

Results: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship, Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit – Practice Two:

1 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:29.5747R
2 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:29.8173r 0:00.2426
3 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 1:29.9165r 0:00.3418
4 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:30.1669r 0:00.5922
5 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:30.1680r 0:00.5933
6 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:30.1712r 0:00.5965
7 Shell V-Power Racing Team F.Coulthard/T.D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG/X 1:30.3006r 0:00.7259
8 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:30.3052r 0:00.7305
9 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:30.3383r 0:00.7636
10 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 1:30.3989 0:00.8242
11 MEGA Racing Jason Bright Ford Falcon FG/X 1:30.5421 0:00.9674
12 Mobil 1 HSV Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:30.5778 0:01.0031
13 TEKNO Woodstock Racing Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 1:30.6123 0:01.0376
14 Sengled Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:30.6407 0:01.0660
15 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:30.6529 0:01.0782
16 Mobil 1 HSV Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 1:30.8108 0:01.2361
17 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:30.8375 0:01.2628
18 BIANTE 1:1 Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:30.9286 0:01.3539
19 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Holden Commodore VF 1:30.9344 0:01.3597
20 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:30.9792 0:01.4045
21 Erebus GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:31.1394 0:01.5647
22 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 1:31.8139 0:02.2392
23 Team CoolDrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:31.9628 0:02.3881
24 Repair Management Aust Racing Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VF 1:32.0605 0:02.4858
25 Repair Management Aust Racing Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF 1:32.4258 0:02.8511 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!