Wildcards locked in for Winton, Darwin, Ipswich

Jack Le Brocq is one of the wildcard entries

The Supercars Commission has released the list of five drivers who will join the Supercars Championship as wildcards at selected Super Sprint events this year.

The drivers are Jack Le Brocq, Shae Davies, Todd Hazelwood, Macauley Jones, and James Golding.

MW Motorsport’s Davies has entered the Winton Super Sprint and team-mate Le Brocq Hidden Valley, before both will race at Queensland Raceway.

Hazelwood and Matt Stone Racing will make their Virgin Australia Supercars Championship debuts at Queensland Raceway.

The South Australian native broke through for his first and second Dunlop Super2 Series race wins this year at Adelaide and Symmons Plains respectively, but has not secured an enduro drive thus far.

Jones has been locked in for Winton and Hidden Valley, making for four Championship entries for Brad Jones Racing.

Golding will start at Winton and Queensland Raceway ahead of a Pirtek Enduro Cup campaign alongside Garth Tander.

The Garry Rogers Motorsport protégé is not running in this year’s Super2 Series, but is eligible by virtue of two previous full campaigns in the second tier.

No wildcards were granted for the Perth Super Sprint, which was the other event for which entries were being invited.

Super2 is in action at this weekend’s WD-40 Phillip Island 500 (April 21-23), while the first wildcard entries will run at Winton from May 19-21.

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]