Kumho V8s confirm 19-car grid for Phillip Island

Tuesday 18th April, 2017 - 4:26pm


The Kumho V8 field at Phillip Island in 2016

The Kumho Tyre Australian V8 Touring Car Series has announced a 19-car grid for this weekend’s season-opener at Phillip Island.

Kumho V8s join the Dunlop Super2 Series on the supports bill for WD-40 Phillip Island 500, making for a total of 68 Supercars in competition at the Victorian circuit.

Geoff Emery returns to touring car racing in his ex-Craig Lowndes Triple Eight Commodore, which has been restored to the Holden Dealer Team tribute livery it ran at the 2012 Bathurst 1000.

Emery will even run the Commodore, last raced at Sydney Olympic Park in 2014, as car #888.

Josh Smith switches to Image Racing from Brad Jones Racing, driving a 2012-built ex-Stone Brothers Racing FG Falcon which was driven by Tim Slade in the Supercars Championship.

The Queensland is the only man in the field to have won a race in 2016, the other winners having been eventual series champion Taz Douglas and Super2 champion Garry Jacobson.

Ironically, Josh Smith’s seat at BJR will be filled by Jack Smith, who will be on double-duty at Phillip Island when he also runs in Super2.

Jack Smith will, however, switch that ride to the car which Jason Bright crashed at Adelaide in 2014 after writing off a VF Commodore in a multi-car crash at Symmons Plains.

Two-time Kumho V8 champions Eggleston Motorsport return with an as yet unconfirmed driver, believed to be 2016 runner-up Tyler Greenbury, in an ex-Triple Eight VE Commodore.

Michael Anderson is back after debuting in the series last season, but will now field the FG Falcon with which Cameron Waters won the 2015 Super2 Series.

Jacobson took the same car to five race wins in his two-round cameo in the unofficial third tier of Supercars last year.

In the Heritage class, Troy Stapleton’s ex-Dick Johnson Racing EL Falcon will be on the grid again, complete with original Shell Helix livery, while Bradley Neill debuts with an ex-Perkins Engineering-built VS Commodore raced by David ‘Truckie’ Parsons in 1996.

Round 1 supports the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship this weekend, April 21-23.

Entry list: Round 1, Kumho Tyre Australian V8 Touring Car Series

Car # Class Sponsor Driver State Vehicle
2 Kumho Cup Page Bros. Jayco Steven Page VIC Commodore VE ll
7 Kumho Cup Mocomm Motorsports Communications Jim Pollicina NSW Commodore VE
11 Kumho Cup Kenwood Homes Michael Anderson NSW Ford Falcon FG
12 Kumho Cup Century 21 Hazelbrook Chris Delfsma NSW Ford Falcon BF
14 Championship Image Racing/Lubrimaxx Josh Smith QLD Ford Falcon FG
16 Kumho Cup Image Racing/Lubrimaxx Leigh Moran VIC Ford Falcon BA
17 Heritage Astoria Honda Troy Stapleton VIC Ford Falcon EL
21 Championship Brad Jones Racing/SCT Logistics Jack Smith QLD Commodore VE ll
23 Kumho Cup Massel Michael Caine NSW Commodore VE
38 Championship Eggleston Motorsport TBC Commodore VE ll
39 Kumho Cup Vectra Corp Chris Smerdon SA Ford Falcon FG
41 Kumho Cup Dial Before You Dig Mark Primmer NSW Ford Falcon BF
49 Kumho Cup Image Racing/Lubrimaxx Jordon Boys VIC Ford Falcon FG
55 Heritage Neill Motorsport Bradley Neill QLD Commodore VS
66 Kumho Cup Unichip Dynomotive Jack Sipp QLD Commodore VE
69 Kumho Cup Dial Before You Dig/Mac Motorsport Jon McCorkindale NSW Ford Falcon BF
76 Kumho Cup Garry Hills Racing – GHR Garry Hills WA Commodore VE II
88 Kumho Cup WakeUp! Backpackers Warren Millett NSW Commodore VZ
888 Championship Emery Motorsport/Solair World Geoff Emery VIC Commodore VE comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!