Formula 1 teams confirm Bahrain test line ups

Formula 1 teams will take part in a two-day test in Bahrain this week

Formula 1 teams have confirmed their driver line ups for the first in-season test of the season at Bahrain this week.

A total of 16 drivers from the current F1 grid are set to take part in the two-day test at the Bahrain Intentional circuit, which hosted the third round of the championship last weekend.

Reigning world champions Mercedes will split the test between its current drivers, beginning with Lewis Hamilton today and team-mate Valtteri Bottas on Wednesday.

Sauber and Haas F1 are the only other teams to complete the test with its current drivers Marcus Ercisson, Pascal Wehrlein, Romain Grosjean and Kevin Magnussen respectively.

Following its victory in Bahrain, Ferrari will hand the SF70H to Sauber reserve driver and former GP2 star Antonio Giovinazzi today, with Sunday’s race winner Sebastian Vettel completing the running.

Daniel Ricciardo is set to open the test for Red Bull before handing the duties to reigning GP2 champion Pierre Gasly.

Regular drivers Sergio Perez and Esteban Ocon will share the Force India on Tuesday prior to Mexican Alfonso Celis’ run on Wednesday.

Williams will follow a similar strategy with Lance Stroll and Felipe Massa taking the wheel, before former McLaren test driver Gary Paffett jumps in the hot seat.

Formula 2 driver Sean Gelael has earned a run in the Toro Rosso. The Italian team will split the final day of the test between Daniil Kvyat and Carlos Sainz

Meanwhile, Renault will welcome Russian reserve driver Sergey Sirtokin, who will take over from Nico Hulkenberg on Wednesday.

The struggling McLaren squad has opted to promote development driver Oliver Turvey to the cockpit of the MCL32 on Tuesday ahead of Stoffel Vandoorne’s run on Wednesday.

Formula 1 Bahrain Test Driver line-up

Team Tuesday Wednesday
Ferrari Antonio Giovinazzi Sebastian Vettel
Mercedes Lewis Hamilton Valtteri Bottas
Red Bull Daniel Ricciardo Pierre Gasly
Force India Sergio Perez/Esteban Ocon Alfonso Celis
Williams Lance Stroll/Felipe Massa Gary Paffett
Toro Rosso Sean Gelael Carlos Sainz/Daniil Kvyat
Haas F1 Romain Grosjean Kevin Magnussen
Renault Nico Hulkenberg Sergey Sirotkin
McLaren Oliver Turvey Stoffel Vandoorne
Sauber Marcus Ericsson Pascal Wehrlein

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]