NZ champ joins Australian Toyota 86 series

Thursday 13th April, 2017 - 4:00pm


Yardley in the most recent New Zealand Toyota 86 Championship

Reigning New Zealand Toyota 86 champion Ryan Yardley will be part of a 38-strong entry list when the Australian series returns this month at Phillip Island.

Yardley will race with Brian Hilton Motorsport in the car which Drew Ridge campaigned in the inaugural Australian season.

The drive came as part of the prize for taking out the 2016/17 New Zealand Toyota 86 Championship, for which the winner would be offered an international drive.

“We are still finalising support and sponsorship for the whole series, but we’re committed,” said Yardley.

“It’s a very exciting chance to race at some very high profile events.”

Despite the similarities of the two series, the 18-year-old will not be running on an entirely familiar mechanical package.

The Australian series runs all-weather road tyres supplied by Dunlop, in contrast to the Michelin slicks used in New Zealand, while there are also differences in brake and suspension packages.

“I think the adjustment will be fine,” he said.

“I’m looking forward to seeing how the tyres work compared to our slicks and of course will have to work on how the cars behave in the wet because we don’t have a wet tyre option.”

As previously reported, Jason Bargwanna and Warren Luff will be the invited drivers for the opening round.

Leanne Tander, who took part in three rounds as an invited driver last year, fills a non-driving mentor role at Phillip Island.

While Will Brown has graduated to the Dunlop Super2 Series, Cameron Hill, Tim Brook, and Aaron Seton will return after finishing in the top five in 2016.

Liam McAdam and Kim Jane will join the series from Super2 and V8 Utes, respectively.

McAdam contested five of last year’s seven Super2 rounds with Eggleston Motorsport, while Jane will join the category full-time as well as racing in the final two rounds of the V8 Utes.

Carrera Cup Pro-Am race winner Dylan Thomas steps up from a predominantly state-level program in New South Wales, entering cars for himself and Peter McNiven under the CGR Performance banner.

Reid Harker, runner-up to Yardley in the most recent New Zealand series, will also run in the Australian series.

The 38-car field will line up for Round 1 of the series in support of the WD-40 Phillip Island 500 from April 21-23.

Entry list: Toyota 86 Racing Series: Round 1

No. Team/Sponsor Name Driver State
3 Sieders Racing Team Aaron Borg NSW
4 SharkBite / Swan Hill Toyota Kim Jane VIC
5 Damon Strongman Racing Damon Strongman VIC
6 PK Transport Jake Klein VIC
7 Clintons Toyota / Sieders Racing Team Cameron Crick NSW
8 Top Gear on Wentworth John Iafolla NSW
9 Aisin Australia / Bruce Williams Jimmy Vernon NSW
15 That English Bloke James Wilkins QLD
16 Benjamin Grice Benjamin Grice QLD
19 Toyota Racing Australia Jason Bargwanna VIC
20 Slo-Mango Racing Timothy Beddoe VIC
21 Tempest Solutions / Pastro Custom AG / Castle Hill Toyota Zach Loscialpo NSW
22 Luke King Racing / Fast Track Communications / / JSD / Tint & Protect Luke King NSW
23 Fast Truck Communications / Simon Samoilenko QLD
24 M1 Racing / Lismore Toyota / Phillip Hunter Smash Repairs Michael Fabri QLD
27 CXC Gobal Racing / CGR Performance Dylan Thomas NSW
30 Sci-Fleet Hino Aaron Seton QLD
34 Ultimate Karting Sydney Racing Tim Brook NSW
35 MDR Motorsport / Bow Wow Dog treats Haydn Clark SA
38 Sieders Racing Team / Longreach Tourist Park Luke van Herwaarde QLD
43 Manley Motorsport Christopher Manley QLD
47 Calum Jones Motorsport Calum Jones QLD
48 Auto Approve Wilson / David Levy Motorsport Nicholas Carroll VIC
53 Deagle Motor Sports Lachlan Deagle NSW
56 Luff Motors Yass Kane Baxter-Smith QLD
67 Reid Harker Reid Harker NZ
68 Samsung / WBT Gerard Maggs NSW
74 Pulse Racing / Zen Garage Trent Grubel NSW
77 CGR Performance Peter McNiven VIC
78 Ryan Yardley Ryan Yardley NZ
86 Toyota Racing Australia Warren Luff QLD
90 Whiity Race Engineering Jarrod Whitty NSW
95 Triax Australia Aaron Cameron VIC
97 Liam McAdam Motorsport Liam McAdam QLD
98 Close-Line / Smart WFM Dylan Gulson NSW
99 Hazard Solutions Graham Smith VIC
111 Southern Star Truck Centre / National Capital Toyota Cameron Hill NSW
777 Sealand Birk Declan Fraser QLD comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!