Le Brocq takes out Super2 Race 4 at Symmons

Jack Le Brocq

Jack Le Brocq has given the Nissan Altima its first ever Dunlop Super2 Series race win in another wet affair in Tasmania.

Le Brocq passed Race 3 winner Todd Hazelwood in the latter half of the race, while Dumbrell also made the move which gave him second in the race and a second round win for the year.

Race 4 started under Safety Car with very light rain still falling and plenty of standing water around the circuit after earlier heavy falls.

Hazelwood thus took control of the 20-car field when the green flags flew for the first time on Lap 5, by which time the rain had stopped but conditions remained poor.

He and Le Brocq pulled away from the pack, while Dumbrell went high to pass third-placed Shae Davies at the hairpin on Lap 7.

Davies’ compromised exit also allowed Jack Perkins to pass and take fourth.

The battle for sixth between Garry Jacobson, Kurt Kostecki, and Will Brown came to a head when Jacobson ran wide at Turn 6 on Lap 8 and was spun by Kostecki as he attempted to gather up the Prodrive Falcon.

Brown took to the grass to avoid contact, but slid into the gravel and became trapped, bringing out the Safety Car.

Kurt Kostecki was given a drive-through penalty for the incident.

Hazelwood came under pressure from both Le Brocq and Dumbrell when the race restarted, reaching a crescendo before the GoGetta Altima got past at the end of the back straight on Lap 18.

Dumbrell followed a lap later, but finished the race in a very defensive state to Hazelwood, helped by the time-certain finish cutting the race from 30 to 24 laps.

Jack Perkins took the #4 Dragon Motor Racing Commodore to fourth, while Jacobson made an impressive recovery to salvage fifth.

His cause was helped when PRA team-mate Josh Kean unloaded Davies through Turn 7 on Lap 19, incurring a drive-through penalty.

Andrew Jones, Nathan Morcom, Brodie Kostecki, Jake Kostecki, and Anton de Pasquale rounded out the top 10.

“It’s awesome, the guys have done an awesome job,” said race winner Le Brocq.

“It’s been great to have Matt White Motorsport back behind us and running the car and the Nissan Motorsport guys have been awesome.”

Dumbrell nevertheless marginally extended his series lead by two points, over Hazelwood.

Brad Jones Racing’s Macauley Jones and Jack Smith, and Bryce Fullwood, did not take the start after they suffered damage in the Race 2 pile-up the day prior.

Macauley Jones had suggested that his Commodore will be a write-off after it bore the brunt of the heavy contact.

Super2 now teams face a tight turnaround to Round 3 at the WD-40 Phillip Island 500, from April 21-23.

Results: Race 4, Round 2, Symmons Plains

1 GoGetta Racing/ MWM Jack Le Brocq Nissan Altima 24 29:34.1464
2 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 24 29:36.5417
3 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore VF 24 29:36.8545
4 Dragon Motor Racing Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF 24 29:40.8770
5 McQuinn Electrical Garry Jacobson Ford Falcon FG/X 24 29:41.1073
6 Alliance Truck Parts Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 24 29:43.6516
7 Eggleston Motorsport Nathan Morcom Holden Commodore VF 24 29:45.7771
8 Sprint Cutting Racing Brodie Kostecki Ford Falcon FG 24 29:48.2524
9 Arcoplate Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 24 29:49.2151
10 Paul Morris Motorsports Anton de Pasquale Ford Falcon FG/X 24 29:49.7132
11 Auto One Racing Adam Marjoram Holden Commodore VF 24 29:56.6021
12 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Richard Muscat Holden Commodore VF 24 29:56.9043
13 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Mason Barbera Holden Commodore VF 24 30:01.1171
14 LOCO Energy Drink / MWM Shae Davies Nissan Altima 24 30:06.1379
15 Arcoplate Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 24 30:12.7168
16 Team Caltex Renee Gracie Holden Commodore VF 24 30:17.7338
17 STR Truck Bodies & Trailers Matthew Palmer Ford Falcon FG 24 30:18.7106
18 Falcon Spares & Repairs Matthew Chahda Holden Commodore VF 24 30:22.7927
19 Wynns Josh Kean Ford Falcon FG/X 24 30:27.1521
20 Eggleston Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore VF 22 29:50.5177

Round results

1 Paul Dumbrell 279
2 Todd Hazelwood 277
3 Jack Le Brocq 268
4 Jack Perkins 214
5 Shae Davies 210
6 William Brown 186
7 Garry Jacobson 169
8 Kurt Kostecki 162
9 Andrew Jones 157
10 Anton de Pasquale 157
11 Nathan Morcom 153
12 Richard Muscat 146
13 Brodie Kostecki 140
14 Matthew Chahda 109
15 Matthew Palmer 108
16 Josh Kean 105
17 Adam Marjoram 103
18 Jake Kostecki 101
19 Renee Gracie  80
20 Mason Barbera  66
21 Macauley Jones  34
22 Jack Smith  30
23 Bryce Fullwood  27

Series points

1 Paul Dumbrell 571
2 Todd Hazelwood 561
3 Jack Le Brocq 526
4 William Brown 374
5 Andrew Jones 369
6 Jack Perkins 366
7 Garry Jacobson 345
8 Shae Davies 315
9 Nathan Morcom 283
10 Macauley Jones 274
11 Anton de Pasquale 257
12 Kurt Kostecki 250
13 Richard Muscat 214
14 Matthew Palmer 206
15 Renee Gracie 204
16 Matthew Chahda 196
17 Jake Kostecki 195
18 Bryce Fullwood 193
19 Mason Barbera 179
20 Brodie Kostecki 178
21 Josh Kean 169
22 Adam Marjoram 137
23 Jack Smith 108

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]