Coulthard leads DJRTP 1-2 at Symmons Plains

Fabian Coulthard leads a DJR Team Penske 1-2

Fabian Coulthard has spearheaded DJR Team Penske to an impressive 1-2 finish in Race 4 of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship at the Tyrepower Tasmania Super Sprint.

Coulthard produced a faultless drive from sixth, benefiting from a well executed pit strategy in a Safety Car impacted encounter on a damp Symmons Plains circuit.

The Kiwi led his countryman and team-mate Scott McLaughlin home for the DJRTP squad’s first Supercars championship race victory in its current guise.

Red Bull HRT driver Jamie Whincup came through to claim the final spot on the podium ahead of Triple Eight team-mate Craig Lowndes.


“I didn’t think it was possible after quali but Scotty had a really quick car in the wet and we couldn’t quite match him but in the dry the thing was a jet,” said Coulthard.

“Shell V-Power Racing, they’ve done a fantastic job, great teamwork in the pits, and I can’t offer much more. It’s been a great day.”

Coulthard managed to rise to second after the second round of pit stops and inherited the lead once Prodrive’s Chaz Mostert made a mistake and ran wide at the final corner midway through the race.

A short fuel fill at his first stop gave Mostert track position for large periods of the race, but the error dropped him to seventh at the flag.

Once in the lead Coulthard came under pressure from McLaughlin but held firm despite two late Safety Cars to take the win.

Polesitter Whincup was left to settle for third having been unable to match the pace of the Shell Fords.

He led away from the start but found himself back in third following the first round of pit stops.

McLaughlin and Coulthard both managed find a away by the six-time champion as he settled for third.

Lowndes was involved in an eventful race, which included a feisty tussle with Cameron Waters, that was to be investigated after the race.

Waters had run as high as second in the early stages before dropping to sixth at the finish, behind Erebus Motorsport’s David Reynolds, who produced an impressive drive to fifth.

The top 10 was completed by Tim Slade (Brad Jones Racing), Shane van Gisbergen, who received a 15 second time penalty for turning Todd Kelly around at Turn 4, and Garth Tander (GRM).

Nick Percat brought his repaired BJR Commodore home in 11th ahead of Scott Pye and Mark Winterbottom.

Alex Rullo sustained heavy damage to the rear of his Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport Commodore which forced him into a late retirement.

He was joined on the retirement list by Tim Blanchard (Brad Jones Racing) and Jason Bright (Prodrive).

Bright caused the first Safety Car when his slick-shod Falcon fired off the road at Turn 6.

Blanchard spun into the pit wall on lap 43 bringing out the second Safety Car.

Offs for Lee Holdsworth and Todd Kelly brought out the final two Safety Cars in the closing stages.

The race finished eight laps short of its scheduled distance due to the stoppages.

Van Gisbergen leads the championship by 20 points from Coulthard heading into the WD-40 Phillip Island 500.

Result: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Tyrepower Tasmania Race 4

1 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 76 01:23:36.5118
2 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 76 01:23:37.2024
3 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 76 01:23:37.6543
4 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 76 01:23:38.0522
5 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 76 01:23:38.6916
6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 76 01:23:39.3857
7 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 76 01:23:39.7455
8 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 76 01:23:41.0680
9 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 76 01:23:41.3203
10 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 76 01:23:41.8223
11 BIANTE 1:1 Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 76 01:23:42.0247
12 Mobil 1 HSV Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 76 01:23:42.5606
13 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 76 01:23:43.1167
14 Erebus GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 76 01:23:44.0570
15 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 76 01:23:44.4366
16 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 75 01:23:45.7974
17 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 73 01:23:46.5556
18 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 72 01:24:35.2831
19 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Holden Commodore VF 70 01:24:12.7333
DNF Repair Management Aust Racing Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF 62 01:09:26.6126
DNF Team CoolDrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 41    43:07.7190
DNF MEGA Racing Jason Bright Ford Falcon FG/X  3     3:18.2164

Championship Standings

1 Shane Van Gisbergen 384
2 Fabian Coulthard 364
3 Jamie Whincup 333
4 Scott McLaughlin 330
5 Cameron Waters 312
6 Chaz Mostert 309
7 Craig Lowndes 288
8 James Courtney 249
9 Tim Slade 249
10 David Reynolds 231
11 Garth Tander 219
12 Mark Winterbottom 189
13 James Moffat 183
14 Scott Pye 174
15 Lee Holdsworth 171
16 Nick Percat 168
17 Michael Caruso 168
18 Rick Kelly 165
19 Simona De Silvestro 141
20 Todd Kelly 139
21 Dale Wood 108
22 Jason Bright 102
23 Tim Blanchard  90
24 Alex Rullo  66
25 Taz Douglas  66
26 Will Davison  66

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]