Hazelwood wins wet Race 3 at Symmons Plains

Todd Hazelwood

Todd Hazelwood has maintained his composure to win Race 3 in Round 2 of the Dunlop Super2 Series at a wet Symmons Plains Raceway.

After an emotional breakthrough win on home soil in Adelaide’s season opener, Hazelwood was kept honest by Jack Le Brocq throughout the race, while Shae Davies finished third.

Hazelwood and Paul Dumbrell, who won the first two races in Tasmania, made an even start from the front row, the Bigmate Commodore driver holding his place around the outside of Turn 2 before pulling clear exiting Turn 3.

Dumbrell opted for the high line around the hairpin on Lap 1, but the decision didn’t pay off as Le Brocq got through.

The top two then pulled away as Dumbrell struggled with tyre pressures, his Eggleston Motorsport team having overestimated the rate at which the track would dry after earlier rain.

The Safety Car was called on Lap 5 when Anton de Pasquale outbraked himself at the hairpin and couldn’t drive away, but Hazelwood and Le Brocq quickly pulled clear again when the race restarted.

Davies outbraked Dumbrell at Turn 6 on Lap 9, making it two MW Motorsport Altimas in the top three.

The order at the front remained thereafter as the South Australian native doubled his race wins tally.

“It was good to get in front of PD at the front there and I thought I was pretty game hanging on around the outside because there wasn’t a lot of grip but we made it work and the car was fantastic,” said Hazelwood, who took over the round points lead.

At least three incidents will come under post-race investigation in what was a dramatic race further back.

Matt Chahda spun into the infield entering John Bowe Straight after contact with Nathan Morcom early in the race, while Adam Marjoram ended in the grass on the outside of Turn 6 after a touch with Jake Kostecki.

Kurt Kostecki turned Josh Kean around exiting the hairpin midway through proceedings, the pair having battled around the back of the top 10 for some time.

Jack Perkins finished fifth ahead of Richard Muscat, while Garry Jacobson climbed from 17th on the grid to seventh after his Race 2 penalty.

Will Brown, Kurt Kostecki, and Andrew Jones rounded out the top 10 despite the latter spinning himself out early on while trying to avoid punting Kurt Kostecki.

Andrew Jones was the lone starter for Brad Jones Racing after Macauley Jones and Jack Smith were involved in a Race 2 pile-up.

Macauley Jones confirmed that he was physically well, but his Payce Commodore may not see a race track again.

“(I’m) A little bit battered and bruise but structurally I’m still okay so we’ll be right for Phillip Island coming in a couple of weeks. We’ve just got a bit of work to do before that.”

Car #14 is set to be a write-off, however, Macauley Jones commenting, “I think it’s going to be the end of its life.”

The final race of the weekend will be held tomorrow at 1245 AEST.

Results: Race 3, Round 2, Symmons Plains

1 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore VF 25 26:51.9607
2 GoGetta Racing/ MWM Jack Le Brocq Nissan Altima 25 26:52.9303
3 LOCO Energy Drink / MWM Shae Davies Nissan Altima 25 27:01.1918
4 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 25 27:01.9308
5 Dragon Motor Racing Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF 25 27:05.3187
6 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Richard Muscat Holden Commodore VF 25 27:05.7796
7 McQuinn Electrical Garry Jacobson Ford Falcon FG/X 25 27:06.6441
8 Eggleston Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore VF 25 27:16.1555
9 Arcoplate Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 25 27:18.6500
10 Alliance Truck Parts Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 25 27:19.8456
11 Eggleston Motorsport Nathan Morcom Holden Commodore VF 25 27:27.7886
12 Wynns Josh Kean Ford Falcon FG/X 25 27:29.0764
13 Sprint Cutting Racing Brodie Kostecki Ford Falcon FG 25 27:31.5761
14 Arcoplate Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 25 27:42.7860
15 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Mason Barbera Holden Commodore VF 25 27:45.9637
16 Auto One Racing Adam Marjoram Holden Commodore VF 25 27:46.8308
17 STR Truck Bodies & Trailers Matthew Palmer Ford Falcon FG 24 26:55.9920
18 Falcon Spares & Repairs Matthew Chahda Holden Commodore VF 24 27:08.3058
19 Team Caltex Renee Gracie Holden Commodore VF 24 27:10.5245
20 Paul Morris Motorsports Anton de Pasquale Ford Falcon FG/X 23 27:20.9745

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]