Dumbrell wins amid Super2 carnage in Tasmania

Paul Dumbrell

Paul Dumbrell has won Race 2 of the Dunlop Super2 Series at Symmons Plains, in a race which was suspended for an opening lap pile-up involving Macauley Jones.

Dumbrell made a clean getaway but drama unfolded behind him as the field accelerated for the run to the hairpin for the first time.

Jake Kostecki and Macauley Jones made contact exiting Turn 3, turning the latter sideways.

Sitting broadside, Jones’ Payce Commodore was t-boned on driver’s left by his BJR team-mate Jack Smith, while Bryce Fullwood careered into the left-front corner of car #14.

Macauley Jones is collected by Jack Smith and Bryce Fullwood pic: Fox Sports

Fullwood was then cannoned into the stricken Commodore a second time when Mason Barbera similarly had nowhere to go and shunted car #16.

While all drivers appeared to escape serious injury, the race was soon red flagged due to the extent of the damage blocking most of the track.

Brad Jones confirmed that his son Macauley was largely unhurt.

“He sounded like he was winded on the radio and he’s limping a bit out of the car,” he reported.

Macauley Jones’ damaged Commodore pic: Fox Sports

“(It’s a) tough way to start the weekend but at least he’s okay.”

With rain falling again after intermittent precipitation at the Launceston venue all day, all drivers changed to wet tyres during the race suspension.

The race eventually did restart with just two laps remaining after being shortened from 30 laps to six.

Dumbrell held his nerve to back up his Race 1 victory while Todd Hazelwood shadowed him home.

“It was pretty tough there,” said the race winner.

“A couple of laps sprint there – it certainly made for some interesting viewing.”

Jack Le Brocq claimed third after hanging tough on the outside of Turn 5, having got a run on Will Brown up the back straight when the race restarted.

Shae Davies also passed Will Brown by the time the chequered flag flew.

Anton de Pasquale spins pic: Fox Sports

Jack Perkins finished sixth after avoiding a repeat of the Lap 1 drama, just missing Anton de Pasquale as the Paul Morris protégé spun his Falcon through Turn 3 on the final lap.

Garry Jacobson and Andrew Jones also had to react quickly to avoid contact with car #67, only for Jacobson to turn Jones around moments later at the hairpin.

Jacobson was subsequently issued a 15-second penalty, relegating him from ninth to 17th.

The Prodrive Racing Australia driver had also been stripped of pole earlier in the weekend for failing to obey red flag procedures.

Kurt Kostecki finished seventh, de Pasquale salvaged eighth, Nathan Morcom inherited ninth, and Richard Muscat rounded out the top 10.

Andrew Jones finished 14th.

The third of four races is coming up today at 1530 AEST.

Results: Race 2, Round 2

1 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 6 26:21.3080
2 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore VF 6 26:21.7075
3 GoGetta Racing/ MWM Jack Le Brocq Nissan Altima 6 26:22.4221
4 LOCO Energy Drink / MWM Shae Davies Nissan Altima 6 26:24.4525
5 Eggleston Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore VF 6 26:25.9081
6 Dragon Motor Racing Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF 6 26:29.8964
7 Arcoplate Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 6 26:30.0398
8 Paul Morris Motorsports Anton de Pasquale Ford Falcon FG/X 6 26:30.5973
9 Eggleston Motorsport Nathan Morcom Holden Commodore VF 6 26:34.5155
10 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Richard Muscat Holden Commodore VF 6 26:34.5993
11 Auto One Racing Adam Marjoram Holden Commodore VF 6 26:35.2366
12 Falcon Spares & Repairs Matthew Chahda Holden Commodore VF 6 26:39.3573
13 Sprint Cutting Racing Brodie Kostecki Ford Falcon FG 6 26:40.8555
14 Alliance Truck Parts Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 6 26:45.1977
15 STR Truck Bodies & Trailers Matthew Palmer Ford Falcon FG 6 26:45.3905
16 Team Caltex Renee Gracie Holden Commodore VF 6 26:47.6456
17 McQuinn Electrical Garry Jacobson Ford Falcon FG/X 6 26:48.1901
DNF Wynns Josh Kean Ford Falcon FG/X 2 20:40.8574
DNF Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Mason Barbera Holden Commodore VF    
DNF PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF    
DNF SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore VF    
DNF Middys Electrical / MWM Bryce Fullwood Ford Falcon FG    
DNF Arcoplate Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF    

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]