Australian Formula 3 issues revised calendar

Monday 3rd April, 2017 - 6:00am


The Australian Formula 3 Premier Series

The re-born Australian Formula 3 Premier Series has released a revised calendar including the addition of Phillip Island.

The move to include a round at the Victorian circuit follows the cancellation of its planned opening round at Winton from April 13-16.

As a result, the series will now begin at Queensland’s Morgan Park from May 19-21 before visits to South Australia’s Mallala (June 9-11) and Sydney Motorsport Park (July 1-2).

Phillip Island will host the fourth round from August 19-20 with the series set to join the Victorian Road Racing Championships.

The category will compete for the John Roxborough Trophy which dates back to 1968.

Other past winners of the title include John McCormack (1971 Elfin MR5), Kevin Bartlett (Lola F5000 1972, 1974, 1975), Alfredo Constanzo (Lola F5000 1976), and John Leffler (Lola F5000 1977).

The title event was last held in 2002 and was won current Nissan Supercars star driver Michael Caruso driving a Dallara F301.

“Re-scheduling of the calendar has come about as a result of the promoter at Winton cancelling a meeting that was to have hosted the first round of our Series,” said Australian F3 spokesman Mike Drewer.

“We are delighted that the Phillip Island Auto Racing Club (PIARC) has seen fit to reconstitute the Victorian Road Racing Championship title for Round 4 of the Australian Formula 3 Premier Series.

“This title is part of the DNA of Australian open-wheeler racing with other past winners including such names as Arthur Abrahams, Simon Hardwidge, Brian Sampson, Wayne Ford, and James Manderson.”

The 2017 Formula 3 Series Premier Series will accommodate entries from older F3 chassis and other open-wheelers including Formula 1000, Formula Ford 2000, Formula Renault, Toyota Racing Series and Formula BMW.

Australian F3 Premier Series 2017 Calendar

Rd 1 Morgan Park (QLD) May 19-21
Rd 2 Mallala (SA) The F3 Master of Mallala Cup June 9-11
Rd 3 Sydney Motorsport Park (NSW) July 1-2
Rd 4 Phillip Island (Victoria) Victorian Road Racing Championship, August 19-20
Rd 5 Queensland Raceway (QLD) The F3 City of Ipswich Super Prix’ September 15-17
Rd 6 Wakefield Park (NSW) The F3 City of Goulburn Trophy October 20-22 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!