Di Grassi victorious after stunning Mexico fightback

Lucas di Grassi celebrates victory Mexico

Lucas di Grassi ignited his FIA Formula E Championship hopes with a stunning come from behind victory in an incident-filled race in Mexico.

The Brazilian managed to leap from last to first after gambling on a Safety Car which helped pave the way for his first win of the season from Techeetah’s Jean-Eric Vergne and Virgin Racing’s Sam Bird.

New Zealand’s Mitch Evans scored a career best fourth for Jaguar Racing having benefited from a crash in the closing stages of the race.

Di Grassi was demoted to the rear of the field when he suffered damage to his rear wing which prompted the ABT driver to pit on lap three.

He then choose to pit and swap cars under the Safety Car with 28 laps to go, after leader Oliver Turvey came to a halt at Turn 1 of the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez circuit.

Once the mandatory stops had shaken out di Grassi found himself in the lead which he held until the chequered flag.

Jerome d’Ambrosio had mirrored di Grassi’s strategy and was lying second after the stops and provided a stern defence against attacks from Jose Maria Lopez and Vergne behind.

This allowed di Grassi to open up a healthy lead at the front.

Lopez suffered a spin putting him out of the fight just before Vergne eventually found a way by d’Ambrosio.

Despite strong pace, Vergne was unable to reel in di Grassi and had to settle for second ahead of Bird, who took advantage of d’Ambrosio running out of energy.

Evans’ charge to fourth was aided by a multi-car collision involving Nico Prost, who hit Nick Heidfeld, which also saw Felix Rosenqvist become caught up in the incident.

The Kiwi swept through the carnage to claim fourth while Prost recovered to fifth in front of Lopez (Virgin Racing), Daniel Abt (ABT), Adam Carroll (Jaguar Racing), Nelson Piquet Jr (NEXTEV) and debutant Esteban Gutierrez (Techeetah).

Championship leader Sebastien Buemi finished 14th after suffering a spin midway through the race.

The FIA Formula E Championship heads to Monaco for the fifth round on May 13.

Result: FIA Formula E Championship. Mexico City 

Position Driver Team Car Gap
1 Lucas di Grassi Abt ABT Schaeffler
2 Jean-Eric Vergne Techeetah Renault +1.966s
3 Sam Bird Virgin DS-Virgin +5.480s
4 Mitch Evans Jaguar Jaguar +9.770s
5 Nicolas Prost e.dams Renault +9.956s
6 Jose Maria Lopez Virgin DS-Virgin +10.631s
7 Daniel Abt Abt ABT Schaeffler +11.694s
8 Adam Carroll Jaguar Jaguar +13.722s
9 Nelson Piquet Jr. NextEV NEXTEV TCR +14.156s
10 Esteban Gutierrez Techeetah Renault +15.717s
11 Robin Frijns Andretti Andretti +21.459s
12 Nick Heidfeld Mahindra Mahindra +27.232s
13 Jerome d’Ambrosio Dragon Penske +32.646s
14 Sebastien Buemi e.dams Renault +1:01.365s
15 Stephane Sarrazin Venturi Venturi +1 Lap
16 Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra Mahindra +2 Laps
DNF Maro Engel Venturi Venturi Retirement
DNF Antonio Felix da Costa Andretti Andretti Retirement
DNF Loic Duval Dragon Penske Retirement
DNF Oliver Turvey NextEV NEXTEV TCR Retirement

Championship Standings

Position Driver Points
1 Sebastien Buemi 76
2 Lucas di Grassi 71
3 Nicolas Prost 46
4 Jean-Eric Vergne 40
5 Sam Bird 33
6 Felix Rosenqvist 20
7 Daniel Abt 20
8 Nick Heidfeld 17
9 Nelson Piquet Jr. 15
10 Oliver Turvey 15
11 Mitch Evans 12
12 Antonio Felix da Costa 10
13 Jose Maria Lopez 10
14 Jerome d’Ambrosio 10
15 Loic Duval 9
16 Robin Frijns 8
17 Adam Carroll 4
18 Maro Engel 2
19 Stephane Sarrazin 1
20 Esteban Gutierrez 1

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]