Talbot wins incident-packed GT Race 4

Daniel Herrero

Sunday 26th March, 2017 - 12:24pm


Liam Talbot

Liam Talbot has taken honours in an Australian GT race which required two Safety Car periods at Albert Park.

Talbot came from fourth on the grid to win the race, while Max Twigg crossed the line second but will come under scrutiny for an opening-lap clash with Fraser Ross.

Race 2 winner Roger Lago launched clear of the field at the rolling start but there was drama just behind as Twigg turned Ross’s McLaren around.

While the 25 cars following managed to avoid the broadside Tekno Autosports entry, carnage occurred just up the road when Peter Major put two wheels in the grass while braking for Turn 3.

The Major Lamborghini slid across the track and took out Hector Lester’s Ferrari, who glanced the wall before coming to rest in the gravel trap and triggering the Safety Car.

Ironically, the same two cars failed to finish the day prior after contact between Major and Benny Simonsen.

The race restarted on Lap 4, and Liam Talbot wasted no time as he outbraked Twigg at Turn 1.

The 2016 Blancpain Endurance Cup Am champion then took advantage of a Lago error under brakes as he passed the race leader into Turn 11.

Lago dropped to third in the process as he attempted to hang tough on the outside but ultimately had to file in behind Twigg.

Ryan Millier brought out the Safety Car for a second time when he sailed off at Turn 1 at the end of the restart lap, down the inside of Lago, before gliding across the gravel trap and finding the wall.

The field was allowed one final lap of green flag racing before the chequered flag, and Talbot gapped the field to collect a race win to add to his class win in the Walkinshaw Porsche at the Bathurst 12 Hour.

Geoff Emery dived past Lago at Ascari to take third, but may well be promoted to second if Twigg is penalised for the opening lap incident.

For now, Lago is classified fourth and the top 10 is rounded out by Yasser Shahin, James Koundouris, Tony Walls, Tony Bates, Marc Cini, and Tim Miles.

Nick Kelly had crossed the line in eighth but was issued a five-second penalty, dropping him to 14th.

Round 3 will support the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship at the Perth SuperSprint from May 5-7.

Race results: Race 4, Albert Park

1 MEGA Racing Liam Talbot (QLD) Porsche 911 GT3-R 8 28:29.9800
2 Australian Engineered Flooring Max Twigg (VIC) Mercedes AMG GT-S 8 28:31.5990
3 Valvoline Geoff Emery Audi R8 LMS 8 28:33.3596
4 JBS Australia Roger Lago (QLD) Lamborghini R-EX 8 28:34.1958
5 Interlloy M Motorsport Yasser Shahin (SA) Lamborghini R-EX 8 28:34.8207
6 Supabarn Supermarkets James Koundouris (ACT) Audi R8 LMS 8 28:35.4734
7 Objective Racing Tony Walls (NSW) McLaren 650S GT3 8 28:36.5786
8 Moveitnet/AFS Tony Bates Mercedes AMG GT-S 8 28:37.8077
9 Hallmarc Constructions Marc Cini (VIC) Audi R8 LMS 8 28:38.5956
10 Valvoline Tim Miles (NSW) Audi R8 LMS 8 28:38.8889
11 Hogs Breath Cafe/Griffith Corp Mark Griffith (Qld) Mercedes AMG GT-S 8 28:40.6974
12 BMW Team SRM James Bergmuller BMW M6 GT3 8 28:41.3869
13 Maranello Motorsport Peter Edwards (VIC) Ferrari 488 GT3 8 28:41.9334
14 Industrie Clothing Nick Kelly (NSW) Audi R8 LMS Ultra 8 28:42.0227
15 Tekno Fraser Ross (VIC) McLaren 650S GT3 8 28:42.0967
16 HHH Triffid Racing Michael Hovey (QLD) Lamborghini R-EX 8 28:45.6190
17 Darrell Lea Tony Quinn (QLD) McLaren 650S GT3 8 28:48.7536
18 AMAC Motorsport Andrew Macpherson (NSW) Lamborghini Huracan 8 28:49.6058
19 Mack Roofing Products Wayne Mack (VIC) Ferrari 458 GT3 8 28:50.0667
20 Timken Zagame Motorsport Adrian Deitz (NSW) Lamborghini Huracan 8 28:51.1405
21 Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor (QLD) Mercedes AMG GT-S 8 28:53.2284
22 Fire Rating Solutions Matthew Turnbull (VIC) Lamborghini LP-560 8 28:55.4167
23 Kentucky Fried Chicken Gary Higgon (VIC) Audi R8 LMS 8 28:55.8216
24 Shoal/Thomson Geer Lawyers Michael O’Donnell (SA) Porsche GT3 Cup 8 28:58.0833
DNF Pirelli/Trofeo Motorsport Ryan Millier Lamborghini Huracan 4 16:20.3745
DNF DJS Racing Danny Stutterd (VIC) BMW M6 GT3 3 14:25.3120
DNF PM Motorsport Peter Major (WA) Lamborghini R-EX    
DNF Rosso Verde Racing Hector Lester (UK) Ferrari 458 GT3 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!