Mostert breaks drought after Coulthard puncture

Dan Herrero

Sunday 26th March, 2017 - 1:52pm


Chaz Mostert

Chaz Mostert has taken victory after Fabian Coulthard picked up a puncture while leading the final heat of the Coates Hire Supercars Challenge at Albert Park.

The win is Mostert’s first since 2015.

Jamie Whincup also briefly led before he too suffered a flat tyre while on for a second placing, the third of the race after Tim Blanchard also lost a tyre.

Coulthard got the jump when the green flag flew to start the race and established a one-second lead in the opening lap.

Pole-sitter Whincup managed to file into second despite big pressure from behind, while there was another melee at the back which saw James Moffat spin and Scott McLaughlin pick up steering damage.

Mostert was applying pressure to Shane van Gisbergen and the Supercheap Auto Racing Falcon got underneath at Ascari to take third on the opening lap.

Coulthard was stretching his lead when the Shell V-Power Falcon picked up a left-front puncture on Lap 7, handing the ascendancy to Whincup.

Mostert, however, took the lead before the lap was out and began to run away with proceedings.

Whincup looked set to at least finish runner-up before the Red Bull HRT Commodore lost a left-rear tyre on Lap 11.

That left his team-mate van Gisbergen, who had staved off pressure from Tim Slade earlier in the race, in second, and he eventually crossed the line 9.7s adrift of car #55.

Slade did take third in the Freightliner Commodore, ahead of the Nissans of Todd Kelly and Michael Caruso, and the HSV Commodores of James Courtney and Scott Pye.

Will Davison, Jason Bright, and David Reynolds made up the top 10.

Garth Tander made 11th despite being the man who McLaughlin clashed with at the first corner, while Craig Lowndes came from the very rear of the 24-car field to finish 14th.

McLaughlin was eventually 17th in car #17, Whincup 19th, and Coulthard 20th.

Supercars return to championship competition when the field assembles at Symmons Plains for the Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint from April 7-9.

Result: Virgin Australia Supercars AGP Non-Championship Race 4

1 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 13 25:38.1620
2 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 13 25:47.8817
3 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 13 25:51.8970
4 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 13 25:53.9054
5 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 13 25:54.9906
6 Mobil 1 HSV Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 13 25:54.6277
7 Mobil 1 HSV Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 13 25:55.7295
8 TEKNO Woodstock Racing Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 13 25:57.4667
9 MEGA Racing Jason Bright Ford Falcon FG/X 13 25:59.2897
10 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 13 26:00.4110
11 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 13 26:03.3176
12 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Holden Commodore VF 13 26:04.4763
13 Sengled Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 13 26:05.5525
14 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 13 26:05.9418
15 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 13 26:09.5524
16 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 13 26:15.6359
17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 13 26:22.0860
18 LD Motorsport Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF 13 26:29.8339
19 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 13 26:55.5597
20 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 13 27:10.4140
21 LD Motorsport Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VF 13 27:37.1427
DNF Team CoolDrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF  6 14:02.2379
DNF Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X  1  2:10.7002
DNF Erebus GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF