Lago comfortably wins Aus GT Race 2 at AGP

Roger Lago

Roger Lago has taken a thorough victory in Race 2 of Round 2 of the Australian GT Championship at Albert Park.

The Lamborghini RE-X driver beat Fraser Ross home by 4.3s in what was an 11-lap journey, while Peter Major took third on the final lap.

In the first race for the lower-ranked drivers, Lago got a run on the outside of pole-sitter Max Twigg and beat the #8 Mercedes out of the first corner.

He had amassed a 3s lead by the end of the opening lap and never looked back in the 25-minute race.

Ross threatened Twigg for several laps before squeezing past on Lap 7, making slight contact, but was not troubled again in the Tekno Autosports McLaren.

Major then set about working over the AMG GT-S, and eventually found a way by at Ascari on the final lap.

However, a five-second penalty for a start infringement saw him relegated to fifth, elevating Twigg back to third and Liam Talbot to fourth.

James Koundouris, Scott Taylor, Geoff Emery, Ryan Millier, and Nick Kelly rounded out the top 10.

There were a number of incidents throughout the race, the first being when Tony Bates locked up while running third on the opening lap and into the Turn 3 gravel.

The two-time race winner at Adelaide would also spin his Mercedes at the fast Turn 11/Turn 12 complex late in the race.

Emery had also wobbled off the road on Lap 1 having inherited third from Bates, while his Jamec Pem team-mate Tim Miles looped his Audi at Ascari on Lap 7, forcing Adrian Deitz to dive to the grass.

Tony Quinn also spun at Turn 11 on Lap 8, having tried to avoid contact with Bates on his inside.

The next race for the Australian GT Championship at the Albert Park will be held tomorrow (Saturday 25 March) at 12:05 local time.

Results: Race 2, Round 2, Albert Park

1 JBS Australia Roger Lago Lamborghini R-EX 11 25:40.8618
2 Tekno Fraser Ross McLaren 650S GT3 11 25:45.1365
3 Australian Engineered Flooring Max Twigg Mercedes AMG GT-S 11 25:51.0893
4 MEGA Racing Liam Talbot Porsche 911 GT3-R 11 25:51.9727
5 PM Motorsport Peter Major Lamborghini R-EX 11 25:55.0464
6 Supabarn Supermarkets James Koundouris Audi R8 LMS 11 26:02.3137
7 Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor Mercedes AMG GT-S 11 26:05.3301
8 Valvoline Geoff Emery Audi R8 LMS 11 26:08.6003
9 Pirelli/Trofeo Motorsport Ryan Millier Lamborghini Huracan 11 26:11.7306
10 Industrie Clothing Nick Kelly Audi R8 LMS Ultra 11 26:17.3560
11 Objective Racing Tony Walls McLaren 650S GT3 11 26:20.4259
12 Interlloy M Motorsport Yasser Shahin Lamborghini R-EX 11 26:26.0277
13 DJS Racing Danny Stutterd BMW M6 GT3 11 26:27.7194
14 Hogs Breath Cafe/Griffith Corp Mark Griffith Mercedes AMG GT-S 11 26:30.7791
15 Rosso Verde Racing Hector Lester Ferrari 458 GT3 11 26:32.2131
16 Hallmarc Constructions Marc Cini Audi R8 LMS 11 26:32.8107
17 BMW Team SRM James Bergmuller BMW M6 GT3 11 26:36.4646
18 HHH Triffid Racing Michael Hovey Lamborghini R-EX 11 26:38.6082
19 Maranello Motorsport Peter Edwards Ferrari 488 GT3 11 26:49.5385
20 Mack Roofing Products Wayne Mack Ferrari 458 GT3 11 26:50.0378
21 Darrell Lea Tony Quinn McLaren 650S GT3 11 27:04.0725
22 AMAC Motorsport Andrew Macpherson Lamborghini Huracan 11 27:07.7276
23 Moveitnet/AFS Tony Bates Mercedes AMG GT-S 11 27:11.1458
24 Fire Rating Solutions Matthew Turnbull Lamborghini LP-560 11 27:17.8438
25 Kentucky Fried Chicken Gary Higgon Audi R8 LMS 11 27:18.7625
26 Timken Zagame Motorsport Adrian Deitz Lamborghini Huracan 11 27:18.9048
27 Valvoline Tim Miles Audi R8 LMS 11 27:24.7805
28 Shoal/Thomson Geer Lawyers Michael O’Donnell Porsche GT3 Cup 11 27:33.2485

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]