Van der Linde takes Australian GT Race 1 pole

Kelvin van der Linde
Pic: Kelvin van der Linde Facebook

With a last gasp effort, Audi young gun Kelvin van der Linde has topped the first Australian GT qualifying session at the Australian Grand Prix.

Van der Linde took the top spot with just moments to spare with a 1:54.4975s lap to pip Ash Walsh’s 1:54.5778s effort.

The South African will start Race 1 from pole in the #74 Valvoline Jamec Pem Racing Audi R8 he shares with Geoff Emery.

It was an all-Audi top three, with Daniel Gaunt coming in third fastest behind the #44 Supabarn Supermarkets Audi R8 of Walsh and co-driver James Koundouris.

Gaunt set a 1:55.5406s lap in the #124 KFC Audi R8 he is sharing this weekend with Gary Higgon.

Fourth fastest was the David Russell/Roger Lago #23 JBS Australia Lamborghini, ahead of the #100 BMW Team SRM BMW M6 GT3 of Steve Richards and James Bergmuller.

Rounding out the ten were Dean Fiore (#9 Hallmarc Construction Audi R8), Lewis Williamson (#59 Tekno Autosports McLaren), Glen Wood (#48 Interlloy M Motorsport Lamborghini R-EX) , Liam Talbot (#911 MEGA Racing Porsche 911) and Cameron McConville (#6 Timken Zagame Motorsport Lamborghini Huracan GT3).

The final Australian GT qualifying session which will set the grid for Race 2 is scheduled for 1405 local time.

Results: Qualifying One – Australian GT, Australian Grand Prix – Thursday 23 March, 2017

1 Valvoline Kelvin van der Linde GER Audi R8 LMS 1:54.49
2 Supabarn Supermarkets Ash Walsh Audi R8 LMS 1:54.57
3 Kentucky Fried Chicken Daniel Gaunt (NZ) Audi R8 LMS 1:55.40
4 JBS Australia David Russell (QLD) Lamborghini R-EX 1:55.54
5 BMW Team SRM Steven Richards (VIC) BMW M6 GT3 1:56.45
6 Hallmarc Constructions Dean Fiore (VIC) Audi R8 LMS 1:56.86
7 Tekno Lewis Williamson (UK) McLaren 650S GT3 1:56.92
8 Interlloy M Motorsport Glen Wood (VIC) Lamborghini R-EX 1:57.06
9 MEGA Racing Liam Talbot (QLD) Porsche 911 GT3-R 1:57.24
10 Timken Zagame Motorsport Cameron McConville (VIC) Lamborghini Huracan 1:57.29
11 Australian Engineered Flooring Max Twigg (VIC) Mercedes AMG GT-S 1:57.33
12 Moveitnet/AFS Tony Bates Mercedes AMG GT-S 1:57.37
13 Rosso Verde Racing Benny Simmonsen Ferrari 458 GT3 1:57.39
14 PM Motorsport Peter Major (WA) Lamborghini R-EX 1:57.70
15 Pirelli/Trofeo Motorsport Ivan Capelli (SA) Lamborghini Huracan 1:59.04
16 Objective Racing Tony Walls (NSW) McLaren 650S GT3 1:59.17
17 Team ASR Ash Samadi (VIC) Audi R8 LMS 1:59.64
18 Valvoline Tim Miles (NSW) Audi R8 LMS 1:59.86
19 Industrie Clothing Nick Kelly (NSW) Audi R8 LMS Ultra 1:59.97
20 Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor (QLD) Mercedes AMG GT-S 1:59.98
21 Darrell Lea Tony Quinn (QLD) McLaren 650S GT3 2:00.37
22 HHH Triffid Racing Michael Hovey (QLD) Lamborghini R-EX 2:00.99
23 Hogs Breath Cafe/Griffith Corp Jake Camilleri (QLD) Mercedes AMG GT-S 2:01.00
24 DJS Racing Danny Stutterd (VIC) BMW M6 GT3 2:01.34
25 Maranello Motorsport Peter Edwards (VIC) Ferrari 488 GT3 2:02.70
26 Fire Rating Solutions Matthew Turnbull (VIC) Lamborghini LP-560 2:02.93
27 AMAC Motorsport Andrew Macpherson (NSW) Lamborghini Huracan 2:04.18
28 Shoal/Thomson Geer Lawyers Michael O’Donnell (SA) Porsche GT3 Cup Car 2:04.68
29 Mack Roofing Products Wayne Mack (VIC) Ferrari 458 GT3 2:05.81

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]