Tyre gamble pays off for Ryan Newman

Monday 20th March, 2017 - 11:31am


Ryan Newman celebrates victory at Phoenix Raceway

A late race tyre gamble paid off for Richard Childress Racing’s Ryan Newman who claimed victory in the Camping World 500 round of the Monster Energy NASCAR Series at Phoenix Raceway.

The majority of the field went to pit lane after Team Penske’s Joey Logano had a front right tyre blow out with 12 laps to go and hit the fence.

Newman, Ricky Stenhouse Jr and Martin Truex Jr all elected to stay out on track while the remainder of the field took two tyres for the run to the flag.

On the restart Newman raced away to a comfortable lead to leave the rest of the field fighting over the scraps.

Newman started the day at odds of 45/1 with the victory his first in 112 starts.

“I can’t remember that last one it has been that long,” said Newman.

“I was a gutsy call from (Crew Chief) Luke. I wanted two tyres and we went for none.

“We kept out of trouble all day and managed to get it done.

“I am spent, I was done on lap 150 (of 314).”

Newman led fellow Chevrolet driver Kyle Larson to the line from Kyle Busch, Stenhouse Jr and Brad Keselowski.

It was a tough result for Larson who was slow on the re-start and had to settle for his third consecutive second-place finish.

The podium result was enough to give him the lead in the championship after four rounds.

“This one stings because I thought I was in the best position of everyone on the restart,” said Larson.

“It is cool to be the points leader at the end of this one. That was our goal coming in here.”

The ongoing battle between Busch and Logano continued indirectly following a crash from the latter.

Busch had dominated the last part of the race after winning the race off pit lane on the third last stop and his Toyota was enjoying the clean air at the head of the field.

The crash by Logano stole the lead away from him, but some solid scrambling on the green-white restart gave him third place.

“Everything is great. We were strong all day and awesome there at the end,” said Busch.

“I got out the front thanks to my pit crew and I am proud of our overall efforts today.”

Logano was classified in 31st place, seven laps down after being one of several drivers who had problems with loading on the front right.

The group included Matt Kenseth who walked away from a big hit in hit Tide-backed Toyota 124 laps from home.

Logano started from the pole and held off a fast-charging Larson to lead all but one of the 75 laps in the opening stage to win stage one and earn 10 championship points and one playoff point.

“Not much you can do when the right front blows out and you have a wall pointing at you,” said Logano of his crash.

“We had good car at the beginning of the race and it went off. We need to figure out how to get faster over the long run.”

Chase Elliott went three wide to grab the lead less than 10 laps into stage two and was ahead at Lap 150 to give Chevrolet its first stage win for the season and earn 10 championship points and a point for the 10-race “race for the chase”.

The championship heads to Fontana, California this weekend for the Auto Club 400.

Result: Monster Energy NASCAR Series, Camping World 500

Position # Driver Manufacturer Laps Time Laps Led Retirement
1 31   Ryan Newman Chevrolet 314 6
2 42   Kyle Larson Chevrolet 314 0.312 3
3 18   Kyle Busch Toyota 314 0.768 114
4 17   Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Ford 314 1.271
5 2   Brad Keselowski Ford 314 1.286
6 4  Kevin Harvick Ford 314 1.534
7 19   Daniel Suarez Toyota 314 1.906
8 77   Erik Jones Toyota 314 2.019
9 48   Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet 314 2.100
10 11   Denny Hamlin Toyota 314 2.201
11 78   Martin Truex Jr. Toyota 314 2.477
12 24   Chase Elliott Chevrolet 314 2.488 106
13 14   Clint Bowyer Ford 314 2.703
14 88   Dale Earnhardt Jr. Chevrolet 314 2.728
15 1   Jamie McMurray Chevrolet 314 2.802
16 13   Ty Dillon Chevrolet 314 2.843
17 43   Aric Almirola Ford 314 3.004
18 3   Austin Dillon Chevrolet 314 3.109
19 6   Trevor Bayne Ford 314 3.183
20 5  Kasey Kahne Chevrolet 314 3.201
21 27   Paul Menard Chevrolet 314 3.282
22 10   Danica Patrick Ford 314 3.594
23 21   Ryan Blaney Ford 314 3.873
24 95   Michael McDowell Chevrolet 314 3.899
25 41   Kurt Busch Ford 314 3.985 1
26 47   A.J. Allmendinger Chevrolet 314 4.004
27 37   Chris Buescher Chevrolet 314 9.699 1
28 34   Landon Cassill Ford 313 1 lap
29 32   Matt DiBenedetto Ford 313 1 lap
30 15   Reed Sorenson Chevrolet 312 2 laps 1
31 22   Joey Logano Ford 307 7 laps 82 Accident
32 51   Timmy Hill Chevrolet 307 7 laps
33 55   Derrike Cope Chevrolet 307 7 laps
34 72   Cole Whitt Chevrolet 256 58 laps Accident
35 38   David Ragan Ford 204 110 laps Accident
36 23   Gray Gaulding Toyota 201 113 laps Accident
37 20   Matt Kenseth Toyota 190 124 laps Accident
38 83   Lajoie Corey Toyota 115 199 laps Accident
39 33   Jeffrey Earnhardt Chevrolet 9 305 laps Transmission

VIDEO: Newman charges to victory at Phoenix Raceway

VIDEO: Victory Lane comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!