Viñales back on top in Qatar MotoGP test

Sunday 12th March, 2017 - 11:13am


Maverick Viñales set the pace in second day of test in Qatar

Maverick Viñales has taken over the lead in Qatar pre-season MotoGP testing while Friday fast man Andrea Dovizioso debuted an eye-catching ‘hammerhead’ fairing on his factory Ducati.

Viñales took nearly 0.4s off the Day 1 benchmark, ahead of Movistar Yamaha teammate Valentino Rossi and Tech 3 Yamaha’s Jonas Folger.

The Spaniard, who has headed each of the three preceding off-season tests, went top midway through the seven-hour session and then improved again later in the night.

Rossi crashed once during proceedings but still surpassed the German rookie Folger, who had been second only to Viñales.

Cal Crutchlow was again the best of the Hondas in fourth, but might have been faster again had he not dropped his LCR machine late in the night.

Aleix Espargaro (Gresini Aprilia) was fifth, while defending world champion Marc Marquez improved six positions on his Day 1 result to finish sixth.

The “Hammerhead” fairing on the Ducati

The Repsol Honda rider had been fastest before Viñales took over.

Alvaro Bautista (Aspar Ducati), Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team), Scott Redding (Pramac Ducati), and Johann Zarco (Tech 3 Yamaha), completed the top ten.

Dovizioso set a lap good enough for 13th before making headlines for the ‘hammerhead’ fairing as the factory Ducati team becomes the latest to experiment with a replacement for winglets.

Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda) was a lowly 16th and Jack Miller 19th, the Australian unhurt despite crashing his Marc VDS Honda.

The three Red Bull KTMs brought up the rear of the field, led again by Pol Espargaro.

The final day of official pre-season testing will be held on Sunday (Monday morning AEDT).

Result: MotoGP Pre-season test, Qatar, Day 2

Pos Rider Team Time Gap
1 Maverick Viñales Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 1:54.45s
2 Valentino Rossi Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 1:54.73s 0.27s
3 Jonas Folger Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:54.91s 0.46s
4 Cal Crutchlow LCR 1:55.03s 0.57s
5 Aleix Espargaro Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 1:55.12s 0.66s
6 Marc Marquez Repsol Honda Team 1:55.19s 0.74s
7 Alvaro Bautista Pull&Bear Aspar Team 1:55.24s 0.79s
8 Jorge Lorenzo Ducati Team 1:55.34s 0.88s
9 Scott Redding Octo Pramac Racing 1:55.35s 0.89s
10 Johann Zarco Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:55.35s 0.89s
11 Karel Abraham Pull&Bear Aspar Team 1:55.42s 0.96s
12 Andrea Iannone Team SUZUKI ECSTAR 1:55.54s 1.09s
13 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Team 1:55.58s 1.12s
14 Danilo Petrucci Octo Pramac Racing 1:55.68s 1.22s
15 Loris Baz Reale Avintia Racing 1:55.80s 1.35s
16 Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team 1:55.87s 1.42s
17 Alex Rins Team SUZUKI ECSTAR 1:56.11s 1.65s
18 Tito Rabat Team EG 0,0 Marc VDS 1:56.21s 1.75s
19 Jack Miller Team EG 0,0 Marc VDS 1:56.25s 1.79s
20 Sam Lowes Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 1:56.27s 1.82s
21 Pol Espargaro Red Bull KTM Factory Racing 1:56.64s 2.19s
22 Bradley Smith Red Bull KTM Factory Racing 1:57.26s 2.81s
23 Mika Kallio Red Bull KTM Factory Racing 1:57.68s 3.23s comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!