Dovizioso tops Day 1 of Qatar MotoGP test

Saturday 11th March, 2017 - 9:04am


Andrea Dovizioso sets the pace in testing on day 1 in Qatar

Andrea Dovizioso has set the fastest lap as Marc Marquez crashed twice on the first day of MotoGP’s final pre-season test at Qatar.

The factory Ducati rider lapped the Losail Circuit with a best time of 1:54.819s, finishing the night over 0.3sec faster than the star of the 2017 pre-season, Maverick Vinales.

Dovizioso went fastest with just over two hours remaining, taking away the ascendancy from new teammate Jorge Lorenzo on a circuit which was expected to suit the powerful Ducatis.

New Movistar Yamaha recruit Vinales continued his strong testing form in finishing second, while LCR’s Cal Crutchlow was the first of the Hondas in third.

Karel Abraham was a surprise fourth for Aspar Ducati and Lorenzo ultimately finished fifth, ahead of MotoGP debutante Jonas Folger for Tech 3 Yamaha.

Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha), Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda), Johann Zarco (Tech 3 Yamaha), and Andrea Iannone (Suzuki Ecstar) rounded out the top ten.

Marc Marquez crashed twice on his way to twelfth, midway through the seven-hour session and again in the final hour.

The defending world champion had been testing a new fairing during the first of those crashes as Repsol Honda fashions a replacement for the now-banned winglets.

Jack Miller finished 14th on his Marc VDS Honda, seven positions off teammate Tito Rabat, who sat out the Phillip Island test due to injury.

Pol Espargaro crashed twice as he set the pace for the three Red Bull KTM bikes in 19th.

The final two days of official pre-season testing take place on Saturday and Sunday.

Result: MotoGP Pre-season test, Qatar, Day 1

Pos Rider Team Time Gap
1 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Team 1:54.81s
2 Maverick Viñales Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 1:55.17s 0.36s
3 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda 1:55.42s 0.60s
4 Karel Abraham Pull&Bear Aspar Team 1:55.61s 0.79s
5 Jorge Lorenzo Ducati Team 1:55.61s 0.79s
6 Jonas Folger Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:55.64s 0.82s
7 Valentino Rossi Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 1:55.67s 0.86s
8 Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team 1:55.69s 0.87s
9 Johann Zarco Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:55.70s 0.88s
10 Andrea Iannone Team SUZUKI ECSTAR 1:55.75s 0.93s
11 Danilo Petrucci Octo Pramac Racing 1:55.83s 1.01s
12 Marc Marquez Repsol Honda Team 1:55.89s 1.08s
13 Aleix Espargaro Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 1:55.91s 1.09s
14 Jack Miller Team EG 0,0 Marc VDS 1:56.01s 1.19s
15 Scott Redding Octo Pramac Racing 1:56.08s 1.26s
16 Alvaro Bautista Pull&Bear Aspar Team 1:56.11s 1.29s
17 Loris Baz Reale Avintia Racing 1:56.19s 1.37s
18 Alex Rins Team SUZUKI ECSTAR 1:56.58s 1.77s
19 Pol Espargaro Red Bull KTM Factory Racing 1:56.66s 1.84s
20 Sam Lowes Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 1:57.09s 2.27s
21 Tito Rabat Team EG 0,0 Marc VDS 1:57.45s 2.63s
22 Mika Kallio Red Bull KTM Factory Racing 1:58.03s 3.22s
23 Bradley Smith Red Bull KTM Factory Racing 1:58.75s 3.93s comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!