Supercars launches Pirtek Pit Stop Challenge

Pit crews will do battle for $25,000 this season

The Virgin Australia Supercars Championship will offer prize money to the category’s fastest pit crew as part of the new Pirtek Pit Stop Challenge.

Pit crews will be timed at each of the six Super Sprint events prior to the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 with points awarded from the fastest to the slowest.

Times will be recorded from pit stops required at this year’s Super Sprint events, where it is compulsory for all drivers to stop for a minimum two-tyre change.

The quickest team will earn 26 points while the slowest team will claim one point. The scores will be collated in a leaderboard after each meeting.

Following the completion of the sixth event, the Red Rooster Sydney Super Sprint, the top four pit crew teams will compete for the top prize of $25,000 live on Foxtel in the lead-up to the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

“We are proud to be the naming rights sponsor of the new Pirtek Pit Stop Challenge that will reward teams for being the toughest and fastest at the all-important pit stops,” said Pirtek’s executive general manager Mark Devitt.

“With our ongoing commitment to Supercars and the Pirtek Enduro Cup, we look forward to extra attention being shown to pit stops.

“A pit stop sees the high pressure sport utilising many of the super tough products that Pirtek provides including hoses, adaptors and couplings that need to stand up to the huge demands placed on them by the Pit Crew Teams.

“We wish all the teams well and look forward to the grand final on live television during the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 on the Friday night.”

The opening round of the Pirtek Pit Stop Challenge will take place at the Tyrepower Tasmania Super Sprint from April 7-9.

Supercars Pirtek Pit Stop Challenge 2017 Schedule

Race 3 – Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint, April 7-9
Race 7 – Perth SuperSprint, May 5-7
Race 9 – Winton SuperSprint, May 19-21
Race 11 – CrownBet Darwin Triple Crown, June 16-18
Race 15 – Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint, July 28-30
Race 17 – Red Rooster Sydney SuperSprint, August 18-20

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]