Van Gisbergen storms to Race 2 pole

Tom Howard

Sunday 5th March, 2017 - 1:26pm


Shane van Gisbergen

Shane Van Gisbergen earned his second Armor All Pole position of the Clipsal 500 weekend after another stunning display in the Top 10 Shootout.

The Red Bull Holden Racing Team driver produced another gutsy lap to post a 1:19.75s with the final lap of the shootout.

Van Gisbergen continued his dominant form after taking pole and the opening race win yesterday.

The Kiwi was set an impressive benchmark to beat by DJR Team Penske’s Fabian Coulthard, but the reigning champion managed to surpass the time by 0.02s.

“It is very cool. The car was really good at the start of the lap but then it went off,” said van Gisbergen.

“There are three Kiwis up front, it should be a good battle.”

Coulthard was left to settle for second repeating the front row for Race 1.

DJR Team Penske’s Scott McLaughlin will start from third alongside Prodrive Racing’s Chaz Mostert.

Mobil 1 HSV Racing’s James Courtney will head up the third row which he will share with South Australia’s Nick Percat (Brad Jones Racing), who topped the shootout in the early stages.

Cameron Waters will start from seventh ahead of Garry Rogers Motorsport’s Garth Tander.

A lock up on the entry to Turn 4 from Brad Jones Racing’s Tim Slade left him in ninth, while Jamie Whincup had his time wiped for overusing the kerbs at the Turn 2 chicane.

The final 250km race of the Clipsal 500 weekend will begin at 1520 local time.

Results: Armor All Top Ten Shootout: Virgin Australia Supercars, 2017 Clipsal 500 

1 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:19.75
2 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.78 0:00.0271
3 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.88 0:00.1306
4 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.22 0:00.4691
5 Mobil 1 HSV Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:20.25 0:00.5029
6 Team Clipsal Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:20.41 0:00.6592
7 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:20.73 0:00.9845
8 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:20.75 0:00.9973
9 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:52.97 0:33.2215
10 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!