SVG edges Whincup to provisional Clipsal pole

Tom Howard

Sunday 5th March, 2017 - 12:05pm


Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen claimed provisional pole in a hotly contested qualifying session ahead of the final leg of the Clipsal 500.

The reigning champion dug deep to clock new qualifying record 1:19.29s with his final effort which was good enough to take provisional pole.

Van Gisbergen edged Triple Eight team-mate Jamie Whincup by 0.03s in a frantic finish to the 20 minute session.

The full grid will be determined by the Armor All Top 10 Shootout scheduled for 1210 local time.

DJR Team Penske looked as though they would end up fastest after Scott McLaughlin jumped to the top only to be surpassed by the sister #12 Falcon of Fabian Coulthard, who ended up third.

Prodrive Racing’s Chaz Mostert had endured a brief spell at the top of the times before being demoted to fifth ahead of Mobil 1 HSV Racing’s James Courtney.

The Brad Jones Racing duo of Nick Percat and Tim Slade secured a spots in the shootout in seventh and eighth respectively.

Cameron Waters claimed ninth despite damaging his left front wheel following a graze with the Turn 8 wall earlier in the session.

New Garry Rogers Motorsport signing Garth Tander sneaked into the all-important Top 10 in the dying seconds.

Such was the competitiveness of the session, several familiar names are missing from this afternoon’s shootout, with the top 20 were covered by just 0.8s

Mark Winterbottom was just short of the Top 10 in 11th ahead of Nissan’s Michael Caruso, James Moffat (GRM Commodore) and Craig Lowndes (Triple Eight), who will start today’s race from 14th on the grid.

Tekno Autosports’ Will Davison was restricted to just four timed laps due to unresolved repairs from yesterday’s crash at Turn 8 during Race 1.

The final row of the grid will feature rookies Simona de Silvestro and teenager Alex Rullo.

The Armor All Shootout will begin at 1210 ahead of today’s final 250km race scheduled for 1520 local time.

Result: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Race 2 Qualifying, Clipsal 500 

1 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:19.2951RS
2 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:19.3335rS 00.0384
3 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.4786rS 00.1835
4 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.4977rS 00.2026
5 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.5437rS 00.2486
6 Mobil 1 HSV Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:19.6258 S 00.3307
7 Team Clipsal Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:19.6263 S 00.3312
8 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:19.6992 S 00.4041
9 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.7922 S 00.4971
10 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:19.8310 S 00.5359
11 Mobil 1 HSV Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 1:19.8784 S 00.5833
12 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.9039 S 00.6088
13 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:19.9154 S 00.6203
14 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Holden Commodore VF 1:19.9162 S 00.6211
15 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:19.9174 S 00.6223
16 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:19.9181 S 00.6230
17 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 1:19.9832 S 00.6881
18 MEGA Racing Jason Bright Ford Falcon FG/X 1:19.9993 S 00.7042
19 Sengled Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:20.0261 S 00.7310
20 TEKNO Woodstock Racing Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 1:20.1834 S 00.8883
21 Erebus GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:20.3248 S 01.0297
22 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:20.4048 S 01.1097
23 Team CoolDrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:20.5835 S 01.2884
24 LD Motorsport Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VF 1:20.9970 S 01.7019
25 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 1:21.2249 S 01.9298
26 LD Motorsport Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF 1:21.8345 S 02.5394 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!