Major wins Australian GT Race 2 in Adelaide

Peter Major

Peter Major has taken victory on debut in Race 2 of the Australian GT Championship after a late-race pass on Roger Lago.

 The pair made for a Lamborghini one-two as Tony Bates finished third in his Mercedes, a perfect reverse of the Race 1 podium the day prior.

 Lago led the race early on while Come Ledogar cut through from eighth on the grid to second in barely more than the opening lap.

The Frenchman, driving with Fraser Ross in the Tekno McLaren, slashed Lago’s 1.5s lead to virtually nothing on Lap 2 before making the pass next time around.

The appearance of the Safety Car for the stricken Ash Samadi Audi and Steven Richards/James Bergmuller BMW shortly after denied Ledogar valuable time to build a lead before the pit stops.

The 25-year-old reeled off a succession of fastest laps as he amassed a 7.2s lead by the time car #59 served its CPS late in the window, but a longer dwell time left Ross in tenth when the pit cycle completed.

Lago, who ran second to Ledogar for much of the first stint, led after pit stops but soon came under pressure from Major.

The former Western Australia Formula Ford champion eventually grabbed the lead with an under brakes move at Turn 9 with what would be three laps remaining.

Bates ran third for the duration after his pit stop, while Liam Talbot (Porsche) passed Tim Miles (Lamborghini) for fourth on the penultimate of 26 laps.

James Koundouris/Ash Walsh finished sixth in the Supabarn Audi after Walsh became the first man to lap Adelaide in the 1:19s bracket in Australian GT.

Kelvin van der Linde had earlier broken his own lap record in the Jamec Pem Audi despite he and co-driver Geoff Emery each making contact with other cars beforehand.

The former’s coming-together with the Greg Taylor/Nathan Antunes Audi saw car #74 slapped with a post-race penalty, dropping them from eighth to twelfth.

The top 10 was thus rounded out by Ross/Ledogar in seventh, then Mark Griffith (Mercedes), Max Twigg (Mercedes), and Greg Taylor/Antunes.

Result: Australian GT Championship Race 2, Clipsal 500

1 PM Motorsport Peter Major (WA) Lamborghini R-EX 26 40:42.9329
2 JBS Australia Roger Lago (Qld) Lamborghini R-EX 26 40:44.8233
3 Moveitnet/AFS Tony Bates (VIC) Mercedes AMG GTS GT3 26 40:52.8493
4 Mega Racing Liam Talbot (Qld) Porsche 911 GT3-R 26 41:11.1938
5 Hungry Jacks Tim Miles (NSW) Lamborghini R-EX 26 41:12.7411
6 Supabarn Supermarkets J.Koundouris/A.Walsh Audi R8 LMS 26 41:15.9804
7 Tekno F.Ross/C.Ledogar McLaren 650S GT3 26 41:16.8138
8 Hogs Breath Cafe/Griffith Co Mark Griffith (Qld) Mercedes Benz AMG GT 26 41:20.0255
9 Australian Engineered Flooring Max Twigg (Vic) Mercedes Benz AMG GT 26 41:22.7570
10 GT Motorsport G.Taylor/N.Antunes Audi R8 LMS 26 41:27.4530
11 Haemokinesis/Pire J.Manolios/D.Canto Lamborghini Huracan 26 41:39.8927
12 Valvoline K.van der Linde/G.Emery Audi R8 LMS 26 41:47.3198
13 Objective Racing Tony Walls (NSW) McLaren 650S GT3 26 41:54.2233
14 Bank SA B.Griguol/T.Macrow Lamborghini R-EX 26 42:06.7145
15 Scott Taylor Motorsport S.Taylor/C.Baird Mercedes Benz AMG GT 25 40:52.5651
16 Shoal/Thomson Geer Lawyers Michael O’Donnell (SA) Porsche GT3 Cup 25 41:10.9780
17 Veloce Motorsport – ULX110 Keith Wong (SA) Porsche GT3 Cup 25 41:31.1348
18 HHH Triffid Racing M.Hovey/D.Jilesen Lamborghini R-EX 24 41:29.0398
DNF Interlloy M Motorsport J.McMillan/G.Wood Lamborghini R-EX 22 36:11.2543
DNF BMW Team SRM S.Richards/J.Bergmuller BMW M6 GT3  9 41:32.7297
DNF Ah Apartments Ash Samadi (VIC) Audi R8 LMS  1  1:37.3867
DNF Hallmarc Constructions Marc Cini (Vic) Audi R8 LMS    
EXC AMAC Motorsport Andrew MacPherson (NSW) Porsche 997 GT3-R    

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]