Dumbrell stars in eventful Super2 Series race

Saturday 4th March, 2017 - 12:48pm


Paul Dumbrell

Paul Dumbrell has ensured that Todd Hazelwood continues to hunt for his first Dunlop Super2 Series victory by taking two from two victories at the 2017 Clipsal 500 this afternoon.

While Dumbrell would take the win, it was Hazelwood who took the start advantage – getting the jump on the Burson Auto Parts pilot to lead until lap nine, when the veteran was able to execute a move up the inside of the youngster on turn nine before holding him out through a side-by-side battle through turns 10 and 11.

The start contact
pic: Matthew Paul Photography

From there ‘PD’ would control the race to finish ahead of Hazelwood and third-placed Jack Le Brocq, who kept Hazelwood working hard all the way to the flag. Macaulay Jones and Andrew Jones rounded out the top five ahead of Will Brown – whose sixth place result is impressive given the former Formula 4 and Toyota 86 racer is on debut this weekend.

The 17 lap stanza got off to a dramatic start to say the least. While the battle for the lead kicked off in exciting fashion, it would continue for only a few seconds before the field came under the control of the Safety Car as officials rushed to attend to the heavily damaged #21 SCT Logistics Brad Jones Racing Holden VF of Jack Smith

The #21 had stalled on the grid and suffered a large impact from #15 Auto One Matt Stone Racing pilot Adam Marjoram, who had nowhere to go. Neither racer would take any further part and Marjoram has been confirmed as being out for the rest of the weekend.

“I pulled up at the line and loaded the clutch up a little bit too much and it sort of cooked itself,” a dejected Smith explained.

“I lost the clutch and it jumped forward a bit and unfortunately stalled.

“It is a really unfortunate event for me, I am not sure who hit me but I really wish it didn’t happen, it is a shame.”

Despite the significant damage to the BJR car, Smith stated that he believes the team will be able to get it fixed ready for tomorrow’s race.

On the restart, the field got away clean with Hazelwood leading Dumbrell, Richard Muscat, LeBrocq and A.Jones.

The battle for the lead was on right from the get-go, with Dumbrell right up on the back of Hazelwood as the Bigmate Racing driver held his own and Muscat, M.Jones and Le Brocq battled for position behind them, with Le Brocq getting through on Jones for fourth before going on to chase Muscat for third. This battle would come to a premature end on lap 7, when Muscat slowed dramatically to enter the pit lane with an engine misfire. At the same time, Bryce Fullwood drew gasps as he got wide and went out onto the grass to drop down the order to 19th after having been inside the top ten.

Drawing the ire of the stewards was Anton de Pasquale, with his contact with Josh Kean and his Wynn’s ProDrive Racing FGX on lap 7 seeing him served a five second penalty.

Joining Marjoram and Smith in being classified as DNFs was Shae Davies, who on lap 13 found took himself out of the race by retiring in a safe place in the turn four escape road with apparent issues. He had been running comfortably inside the top six up until this point.

The third and final race for the Dunlop Super2 Series will be held tomorrow (Sunday) at 11:25.

Result: Dunlop Super2 Series Race 2, Clipsal 500

1 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 17 26:55.0712
2 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore VF 17 26:56.3288
3 GoGetta Racing/ MWM Jack Le Brocq Nissan Altima 17 26:57.0149
4 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 17 26:59.5030
5 Alliance Truck Parts Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 17 27:07.3533
6 Eggleston Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore VF 17 27:09.6900
7 McQuinn Electrical Garry Jacobson Ford Falcon FG/X 17 27:10.3213
8 Dragon Motor Racing Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF 17 27:10.6785
9 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Mason Barbera Holden Commodore VF 17 27:13.0763
10 Arcoplate Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 17 27:14.9790
11 Eggleston Motorsport Nathan Morcom Holden Commodore VF 17 27:15.2722
12 Middys Electrical / MWM Bryce Fullwood Ford Falcon FG 17 27:18.9759
13 Paul Morris Motorsports Anton de Pasquale Ford Falcon FG/X 17 27:21.6503
14 Arcoplate Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 17 27:22.7269
15 Team Caltex Renee Gracie Holden Commodore VF 17 27:23.4963
16 Sprint Cutting Racing Brodie Kostecki Ford Falcon FG 17 27:33.4106
17 Falcon Spares & Repairs Matthew Chahda Holden Commodore VF 17 27:40.1207
18 Wynns Josh Kean Ford Falcon FG/X 17 27:45.1143
19 STR Truck Bodies & Trailers Matthew Palmer Ford Falcon FG 17 27:46.2677
DNF LOCO Energy Drink / MWM Shae Davies Nissan Altima 14 22:54.8292
DNF Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Richard Muscat Holden Commodore VF  5 10:25.3192
DNF Auto One Racing Adam Marjoram Holden Commodore VF
DNF SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore VF comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!