SUPPORTS: Bowe wins after Johnson failure

Touring Car Masters

John Bowe

John Bowe has taken out Race 1 of the Touring Car Masters after Steven Johnson suffered yet another oil line failure.

Johnson led the field into the first corner and the two stars of TCM were on the pace early, Bowe breaking the lap record on Lap 2 and Johnson also going under Eddie Abelnica’s old benchmark.

Unfortunately, the Team Johnson Mustang dropped an oil line for the third consecutive session and the #17 WM Waste entry limped back to the pits on Lap 5.

That left Bowe and his #18 Wilson Security Torana alone at the front of the field, kicking off his fifth TCM title defence in the best possible fashion.

Fellow Torana pilot Ryan Hansford had to settle for third after he ran out of laps to pass Adam Bressington despite applying heavy pressure to the Camaro driver.

Andrew Fisher (XY GTHO) and Mark King (Camaro) completed the Top 5, while Jim Richards (Javelin) was 11th.
Race 2, 10 laps duration, will start at 1040 ACDT on Saturday.

Aussie Racing Cars

Craig Woods leads James Duckworth pic Darin Mandy/Digital Realism

Craig Woods won out in a race-long battle with James Duckworth at the front of the field in Race 2.

Duckworth, who was handed the win in Race 1 after post-race penalties were applied, won the race to the first corner and the top two began to break away from the field.

Woods shadowed the 2016 champion before braking later at Turn 9 and taking the lead on Lap 4.

The pair swapped places at the same corner for each of the next two laps, leaving Woods in front.

Duckworth shaped for a move entering the back straight on the final lap but thought better of it, allowing Woods to establish a lead which he could maintain to the chequered flag.

Blake Sciberras ran third, ahead of Kel Treseder and Ben Walsh.

The latter crossed the line first and second respectively in Race 1, but were issued post-race penalties for a restart infringement.

The third of four races will be run over nine laps from 0835 ACDT on Saturday.

Stadium Super Trucks

SST: Dontas

Gavin Harlien ended the race on his side as Race 1 of Stadium Super Trucks came to a spectacular end.

Harlien was squeezed into the tyre wall by Erik Davis at Turn 5 on the final lap, which grabbed the Royal Purple entry and threw it over.

With officials throwing the red flags out, Craig Dontas was declared the race winner due to results being back-dated to the last completed lap.

Dontas had just been demoted to third at the time of the incident after Paul Morris found a way past and Matthew Brabham barged his way through the hole which ‘The Dude’ had made.

The South Australian had led the majority of the race after passing Bill Hynes, with whom Dontas shared the front row, at the fourth corner.

Morris was ultimately credited with second and Brabham third.

The talented young Australian had started from the rear of the twelve-truck field after setting the fastest time in qualifying the day prior.

Race 2 will be held on Saturday from 1330 ACDT.

Improved Production

Chris Brown took a second race win in his Toyota Sprinter, while Myles Bond climbed from the rear of the field to finish eighth after a DNF in Race 1.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]