Penalty to P1 for Hazelwood in Super2

Todd Hazelwood

Todd Hazelwood may have started the second Clipsal 500 practice session of the Dunlop Super2 Series sitting idle in the pits, but he ended it on top of the time sheets thanks to a 1:22.4329s lap.

Hazelwood languished in the pit lane for the opening five minutes of the session as the rest of the field took to the track, as punishment for crossing the control line twice after the checkered flag flew on this morning’s first practice session for the series.

Deemed to have taken a competitive advantage, Hazelwood was docked the time rather than being given a fine. However, it wasn’t enough to stop him making the most of the session, with his sheet-topping time coming amongst a flurry of hot laps to set the top five in the final moments.

Second fastest was Richard Muscat (1:22.5094s) ahead of Paul Dumbrell (1:22.5555s) and Macauley Jones (1:22.6388s). Rounding out the top five was Bryce Fullwood, who made a big move to jump 13 spots to temporarily hold the top spot with a 1:22.7998s lap at the three minutes to go mark, before Muscat, Dumbrell, Jones and Hazelwood made their moves.

Defending champion Garry Jacobson was sixth fastest (1:22.9049s) ahead of Jack Perkins who until the very final moments of the 30 minute session was on top with a 1:22.9376s effort.

Suffering complications this afternoon were Renee Gracie who lost the right front wheel from her Holden on the approach to turn eight, and also Shae Davies who suffered a puncture after locking a brake to make contact with the tyre wall. Both drivers would make it back to pit lane under their own power for attention before returning to the circuit, finishing 18th and 19th fastest respectively.

The Dunlop Super2 Series field will return to the Adelaide Parklands circuit tomorrow (Friday 3 March) for qualifying at 13:20 followed by race one at 16:25.

Results: Dunlop Super2 Series Practice 2 – 2017 Clipsal 500

1 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore VF 01:22.4
2 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Richard Muscat Holden Commodore VF 01:22.5 00:00.1
3 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 01:22.6 00:00.1
4 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 01:22.6 00:00.2
5 Middys Electrical / MWM Bryce Fullwood Ford Falcon FG 01:22.8 00:00.4
6 McQuinn Electrical Garry Jacobson Ford Falcon FG/X 01:22.9 00:00.5
7 Dragon Motor Racing Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF 01:22.9 00:00.5
8 Paul Morris Motorsports Anton de Pasqu Ford Falcon FG/X 01:23.1 00:00.6
9 Alliance Truck Parts Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 01:23.2 00:00.8
10 Wynns Josh Kean Ford Falcon FG/X 01:23.3 00:00.9
11 Eggleston Motorsport Nathan Morcom Holden Commodore VF 01:23.4 00:00.9
12 Arcoplate Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 01:23.5 00:01.0
13 Auto One Racing Adam Marjoram Holden Commodore VF 01:23.5 00:01.0
14 Eggleston Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore VF 01:23.5 00:01.1
15 GoGetta Racing/ MWM Jack Le Brocq Nissan Altima 01:23.5 00:01.1
16 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Mason Barbera Holden Commodore VF 01:23.9 00:01.5
17 Falcon Spares & Repairs Matthew Chahda Holden Commodore VF 01:23.9 00:01.5
18 Team Caltex Renee Gracie Holden Commodore VF 01:24.0 00:01.5
19 LOCO Energy Drink / MWM Shae Davies Nissan Altima 01:24.0 00:01.6
20 Arcoplate Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 01:24.1 00:01.6
21 Sprint Cutting Racing Brodie Kosteck Ford Falcon FG 01:24.1 00:01.7
22 SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore VF 01:24.8 00:02.3
23 STR Truck Bodies & Trailers Matthew Palmer Ford Falcon FG 01:26.5 00:04.0

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]