Todt to attend Aus Motor Sport Hall of Fame Gala

Monday 27th February, 2017 - 6:12pm


FIA president Jean Todt will attend the CAMS Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame dinner

FIA President Jean Todt has accepted an invitation to be Guest of Honour at the 2017 Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame Gala Induction Dinner to be held in Melbourne on the evening of Friday March 24.

The dinner, presented by, will be one of the highlights of the Rolex Australian Formula One Grand Prix weekend and will see 21 new inductees included from the world for two wheels and four.

Todt and former Formula 1 boss Bernie Ecclestone both sent video messages to last year’s inaugural event, which included a surprise personal visit from 2015 Formula 1 world champion Lewis Hamilton.

Todt will not only attend in person this year, but will present one of the inductees with their Hall of Fame medal.

“I am delighted to be able to attend this historic event and to welcome some of the greats of Australian Motor Sport into their new Hall of Fame,” said Todt.

“The formation of Australia’s own Motor Sport Hall of Fame to honour the heroes of our sport, on both four wheels and two, is an important milestone in the sport and I look forward to seeing who will join the 30 great drivers and riders who were inducted last year.

“It is particularly pleasing to me to see all the forms of motor sport in Australia coming together under one roof to celebrate the rich history of Australian motor sport.”

Last year’s inaugural event saw the induction of motorsport royalty including Sir Jack Brabham, Mick Doohan, Alan Jones and Jason Crump and this year touring car greats Jim Richards and Mark Skaife have already been announced as advanced recipients.

Chairman of the Hall of Fame, Garry Connelly, said he was delighted to have Todt not only attend this year’s event person, but to be a part of the ceremony.

“The Organising Committee is as honoured as it is excited to have Jean Todt attending and to have him perform the induction ceremony for one of the Class of 2017,” said Connelly.

The Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame is an initiative of CAMS, with the support of Motorcycling Australia, Karting Australia, ANDRA and Speedway Australia, and is presented by

The function has a limited number of seats available for sale to members of the public. To purchase tickets visit comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!