Vinales blitzes final test day at Phillip Island

Friday 17th February, 2017 - 6:35pm


Maverick Vinales

Maverick Vinales proved the rider to beat after topping the times for a second day in a row in the MotoGP pre-season test at Phillip Island.

The new factory Yamaha recruit ended the three-day test on top by recording a 1:28.549s which was almost 0.3s faster than nearest rival and reigning world champion Marc Marquez.

Vinales set the pace early the session with his personal best arriving just after the hour mark.

Honda’s Marquez was the only rider able to keep pace with Vinales albeit 0.294s adrift at the chequered flag.

Team-mate Dani Pedrosa was third a mere two tenths further back with his best effort coming in the final half hour.

The Spaniard missed most of yesterday’s action through illness.

Moto2 graduate Jonas Folger continued his impressive pace on the Tech3 Yamaha in fourth, although the German suffered a fall towards the end of the session.

LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow was fifth fastest ahead of new Suzuki signing Alex Rins.

Rins was another rider to suffer a fall in the closing stages.

The factory Ducatis of Andrea Dovizioso and Jorge Lorenzo occupied seventh and eighth, with the former 0.1s faster than his three-time MotoGP world champion team-mate.

Australia’s Jack Miller (Marc VDS Honda) and Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia) rounded out the top 10, while Valentino Rossi was 11th quickest, almost a second shy of the pace.

The MotoGP season will begin at Qatar’s Losail Circuit from March 24-26.

Result: MotoGP Pre-Season Test Day 3, Phillip Island

Position Rider Bike Time Gap
1 Maverick Vinales Yamaha 1:28.54s
2 Marc Marquez Honda 1:28.84s +0.294s
3 Dani Pedrosa Honda 1:29.03s +0.484s
4 Jonas Folger Yamaha 1:29.04s +0.493s
5 Cal Crutchlow Honda 1:29.10s +0.552s
6 Alex Rins Suzuki 1:29.10s +0.554s
7 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 1:29.24s +0.699s
8 Jorge Lorenzo Ducati 1:29.34s +0.793s
9 Jack Miller Honda 1:29.35s +0.809s
10 Aleix Espargaro Aprilia 1:29.36s +0.812s
11 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1:29.47s +0.921s
12 Andrea Iannone Suzuki 1:29.54s +0.998s
13 Danilo Petrucci Ducati 1:29.61s +1.066s
14 Johann Zarco Yamaha 1:29.67s +1.121s
15 Hector Barbera Ducati 1:29.79s +1.242s
16 Pol Espargaro KTM 1:29.85s +1.308s
17 Loris Baz Ducati 1:29.97s +1.428s
18 Bradley Smith KTM 1:29.97s +1.429s
19 Alvaro Bautista Ducati 1:29.98s +1.435s
20 Scott Redding Ducati 1:30.00s +1.456s
21 Sam Lowes Aprilia 1:30.20s +1.651s
22 Karel Abraham Ducati 1:30.45s +1.903s