F1 star’s kart team flies at Australian Kart Champs

Sunday 12th February, 2017 - 11:52pm


Lachlan Hughes on his way to victory for Ricciardo Kart in Newcastle

Lachlan Hughes on his way to victory for Ricciardo Kart in Newcastle

The good form of Daniel Ricciardo’s factory karting team continued in Newcastle today with Ricciardo Kart winning four of the nine categories of the opening round of the Australian Kart Championships.

Red Bull Racing F1 star Ricciardo’s team – managed by former Supercars and Carrera Cup regular, Michael Patrizi – had its best weekend globally since the brand was launched.

Ricciardo Kart took the key categories of KZ2 Gearbox with Troy Loeskow, KA2 Junior with Gold Coaster, Lachlan Hughes, KA1 Senior with recent junior graduate Jace Matthews and X30 with Marc Tulloch.

Loeskow – who races for Ricciardo Kart in Europe as well as Australia – was dominant after getting a great start and although pushed all the way by ACT youngster, Joshua Fife had enough to take the win.

Hughes had been quick throughout the weekend and his heat race efforts was enough to score pole for the final – which he was able to convert.

Both Tulloch and Matthews were undefeated through the weekend, completing a perfect start to their Australian Kart Championships.

Troy Loeskow converts heat race form to final victory in KZ2

Troy Loeskow converts heat race form to final victory in KZ2

Defending Australian TaG Champion, Brendan Nelson got his Title defence underway in the best way, getting home narrowly in front of Mitchell Hewitt and local driver, Zac van Leeuwestyn.

Nelson wasn’t the only driver to get his title defence underway with a win with Australian Cadet 9 Champion, Ryan Tomsett beating home Harry Arnett and Marshall Crofts to win the youngest category on show throughout the weekend – with the closest finish – Tomsett winning by mere centimetres.

Kody Garland took his maiden Australian Kart Championship win in the KA3 Senior category, beating home 39 other competitors and standing atop the podium alongside veteran, James Sera and Dean O’Brien.

Rhys Smith won the Cadet 12 category, while New South Welshman Zac Crichton took a narrow win in the hotly contested KA4 Junior category in his JC Kart – edging Victorian CRG pilot, Kai Allen by a small margin.

The Australian Kart Championship, presented by Jayco and Castrol EDGE moves to Geelong in Victoria on the first weekend of April. comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!