DJR Team Penske Fords come out of ‘shell’

Gordon Lomas

Tuesday 7th February, 2017 - 10:30am


Co-team owner Dick Johnson flanked by Scott McLaughlin and Fabian Coulthard with the 2017 launch livery for the DJRTP Fords

DJR Team Penske has uncovered the launch livery of its twin Ford attack on the 2017 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship at a lavish unveiling at Melbourne’s Etihad Stadium.

As announced last year, the Shell V-Power Racing Team will lead the American/Australian-owned squad into its third season where it is widely anticipated to emerge as a serious Championship contender.

Scott McLaughlin comes to the squad highly credentialled after his career blossomed at GRM

Revealing the #17 for ex-GRM star Scott McLaughlin and the #12 Falcon for Fabian Coulthard, the biggest change to previously seen livery is the larger Shell Pecten emblem on the bonnets.

The expansion of the Shell backing which comes through Shell licensee, Viva Energy, sees the fresh arrangement as a throwback to the heady days of DJR which was a powerhouse of Australian Touring Car racing in the 1980’s and early to mid-1990’s.

McLaughlin, who finished a strong third in the 2016 Championship in the now discontinued Volvo S60 Supercar at GRM, is bursting with enthusiasm at his new challenge.

“Even as a young guy, I always saw the Shell and Dick Johnson relationships as one of the best in the sport,” McLaughlin said.

“To now be part of the new Shell V-Power Racing Team and drive for Dick and Roger Penske is fantastic.

“I think the team is doing great things and can’t wait to get the #17 Shell V-Power Ford on track at the Clipsal 500.”

Fabian Coulthard came on board at DJRTP when it expanded to two cars last season

Second-year DJRTP driver Fabian Coulthard, like his Kiwi compatriot McLaughlin, is eager to see the team build on its second year of running a two-car model.

“My first race for DJR Team Penske was in the Shell Ford at Clipsal last year (and) the response from the fans was extraordinary,” Coulthard said.

“It is a very powerful relationship and I am sure Scott and I will continue to build on the progress the team made in 2016.”

The cars will be in action at a full field Supercars pre-season test at Sydney Motorsport Park on February 21 ahead of the season opening Clipsal 500 at the Adelaide street circuit from March 2–5.

DJRTP’s Pirtek Enduro Cup line-up of Scott McLaughlin/Alex Premat and Fabian Coulthard/Tony D’Alberto was confirmed on January 31 has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!