POLL: Walkinshaw Racing’s new era

The all new Mobil 1 HSV Racing Team

Following the loss of the Holden Racing Team moniker, Walkinshaw Racing is entering a new era as Mobil 1 HSV Racing Team.

The new identity in the wake of Holden shifting its factory support to the Brisbane-based Triple Eight squad from this year, ends a 26-year stint that saw the Walkinshaw operation develop the Holden Racing Team name as a sporting icon in Australia.

During this period the HRT forged itself as a powerhouse winning six drivers titles with successes in 1996 and from 1998-2002.

Walkinshaw Racing’s new name sees the HSV tag revived which was previously used from 2005-2008 when the outfit ran a two-car HSV Dealer Team.

The HSV Dealer Team won back-to-back Supercars championships in 2006-2007 through Rick Kelly and Garth Tander before its demise.

The Mobil 1 HSV Racing Team heads into the 2017 Virgin Australia Supercars season with a new driver line-up following the acquisition of Scott Pye alongside James Courtney.

Do you agree with Walkinshaw Racing’s new name?

Cast your vote below in this week’s Pirtek Poll.

Pirtek Poll

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]