Walkinshaw Racing announces co-driver line up

Walkinshaw Racing has retained its co-drivers for 2017

Walkinshaw Racing has confirmed Jack Perkins and Warren Luff will return as co-drivers for the 2017 Pirtek Enduro Cup campaign.

The Melbourne operation announced via social media that Perkins will once again team up with James Courtney, while Luff has been retained but will join new recruit Scott Pye.

Perkins has formed a solid partnership with Courtney highlighted by an emotional win at the Gold Coast 600 in 2015.

This season will be the 30-year-old’s third year at the team.

“I’m pumped to have him (Jack) back,” said Courtney.

“He’s done a super job for us the last couple of years.

“He’s a great little critter, doesn’t complain and it’s good for us that we don’t have to change anything.”

Meanwhile, Luff continues his co-driver role after a successful enduro campaign last year that saw him win the Sandown 500 alongside Garth Tander.

Walkinshaw rookie Pye is looking forward to building a partnership with the experienced Gold-Coast based Supercars driver.

“Warren is a ripper bloke and last year he did a standout job in the enduros,” said Pye.

“He won the Enduro Cup (in 2013 with Craig Lowndes and 2015 with Tander) and hopefully we can do it again this year.”

Walkinshaw Racing is set to unveil its new guise for the 2017 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship on Monday.

The team is set to launch a new name which will take over the Holden Racing Team moniker that has moved to Triple Eight this year.

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]