Stoner stars as MotoGP testing begins in Sepang

Casey Stoner

Casey Stoner once again showed his class as he topped the times on the opening day of the MotoGP pre-season three-day test at Sepang.

The two-time MotoGP world champion continued his testing duties for the factory Ducati squad after conducting a private test for the marque at the venue last week.

Aboard the new GP17, Stoner clocked a session best 1:59.68s early in the afternoon which proved to be 0.11s faster than Ducati’s race rider Andrea Dovizioso.

The pair outclassed Ducati’s new signing Jorge Lorenzo, who was left to settle for 17th, a full 1.6s slower than Stoner.

New Yamaha recruit Maverick Vinales emerged as Ducati’s nearest rival in third just 0.4s adrift of the outright pace.

Aspar Ducati’s Alvaro Bautista was fourth using a 2016 specification bike, while Andrea Iannone was fifth as he continues his transition from Ducati to Suzuki.

Britain’s Cal Crutchlow emerged as the top Honda rider in sixth ahead of Moto2 graduate Jonas Folger on the Tech3 Yamaha.

Valentino Rossi was eighth ahead of world champion Marc Marquez (Honda) and Hector Barbera (Avintia Ducati).

Factory Honda rider Dani Pedrosa could only manage the 13th fastest time as Australian Jack Miller ended the day in 22nd on the Marc VDS Honda.

Pol Espargaro was the quickest on the new KTM MotoGP machines in 16th spot.

Testing continues tomorrow with Ducati test rider Michele Pirro set to take over from Stoner.

Result: MotoGP pre-season testing Day 1, Sepang 

Position Rider Bike Time Gap
1 Casey Stoner Ducati 1:59.681
2 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 1:59.796 +0.115s
3 Maverick Vinales Yamaha 2:00.128 +0.447s
4 Alvaro Bautista Ducati 2:00.134 +0.453s
5 Andrea Iannone Suzuki 2:00.490 +0.809s
6 Cal Crutchlow Honda 2:00.570 +0.889s
7 Jonas Folger Yamaha 2:00.643 +0.962s
8 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 2:00.695 +1.014s
9 Marc Marquez Honda 2:00.737 +1.056s
10 Hector Barbera Ducati 2:00.744 +1.063s
11 Danilo Petrucci Ducati 2:00.850 +1.169s
12 Scott Redding Ducati 2:00.852 +1.171s
13 Dani Pedrosa Honda 2:00.970 +1.289s
14 Johann Zarco Yamaha 2:01.224 +1.543s
15 Aleix Espargaro Aprilia 2:01.271 +1.590s
16 Pol Espargaro KTM 2:01.338 +1.657s
17 Jorge Lorenzo Ducati 2:01.350 +1.669s
18 Loris Baz Ducati 2:01.351 +1.670s
19 Takuya Tsuda Suzuki 2:01.812 +2.131s
20 Alex Rins Suzuki 2:01.889 +2.208s
21 Karel Abraham Ducati 2:01.926 +2.245s
22 Jack Miller Honda 2:01.942 +2.261s
23 Kohta Nozane Yamaha 2:02.187 +2.506s
24 Katsuyuki Nakasuga Yamaha 2:02.290 +2.609s
25 Tito Rabat Honda 2:02.316 +2.634s
26 Sam Lowes Aprilia 2:02.942 +3.261s
27 Bradley Smith KTM 2:03.034 +3.353s

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]