Ian Madsen stars at Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic


Sunday 22nd January, 2017 - 1:49am


Ian Madsen was in blistering form on the second night of the Grand Annual Classic

Ian Madsen has emerged as a serious threat for a maiden Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic title after a powerhouse performance to take night two honours at Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway.

In the form of his career, Madsen dominated Saturday’s 30-lap final.

The 32-year-old started from pole and was never headed to take the $10,000 prize and claim his first victory at the famous venue.

It now has the Sydney racer confident he can add his name to the Classic’s winners list, which his older brother Kerry has won three times.

“That means a hell of a lot,” Madsen said after the win and wing dance before a 10,000 strong crowd.

“This is such a bloody hard race to qualify for, let alone win. So this is huge.”

“It gives us great confidence heading into tomorrow.”

Madsen held off a fast finishing defending Classic champion Jamie Veal, with the local favourite conserving his tyres towards the end of the race.

American Shane Stewart completed the podium.

James McFadden was fourth followed by Brad Keller, Domenic Scelzi, Jason Johnson, Robbie Farr, Matt Egel and Luke Dillon.

Both Madsen brothers are in a great position after Kerry’s third place in Friday night’s feature.

Having split the field across the past two nights, all competitors will have a final heat race before the E, D, C, and B mains, and the 2017 Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic.

Speedcafe.com has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the Speedcafe.com promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!