Daruvala lands trophy, Randle inherits TRS win


Sunday 15th January, 2017 - 3:35pm


Jehan Daruvala

Jehan Daruvala has claimed his second consecutive Lady Wigram Trophy at the opening round of the Castrol Toyota Racing Series at Christchurch’s Ruapuna circuit.

The Indian kept his composure, leading the 20-lap race from the start despite three Safety Car interventions.

England-based Enaam Ahmed claimed the runner-up spot with Brazilian Pedro Piquet third.

“There were more Safety Cars than I anticipated but I’m really happy to get the win and get back on track,” Daruvala said.

The consistent Richard Verschoor (Netherlands) with another fourth place has taken the lead in the series by three points from Australian Thomas Randle who finished fifth.

In the 15-lap morning race, Randle inherited the win after Kiwi Taylor Cockerton who took the chequered flag was deemed to have jumped the start.

Cockerton was subsequently penalised 10s which dropped him to fourth.

In the Saturday race, Ferrari development squad driver Marcus Armstrong, made a dream debut by winning the 15-lap race.

The TRS moves to Teretonga for Round 2 next weekend.

Points standings (top 10 after Round 1)
1 Richard Verschoor 181
2 Thomas Randle 178
3, Jehan Daruvala 142
4 Ferdinand Habsburg 136
5 Marcus Armstrong 135
6 Enaam Ahmed 134
7 Taylor Cockerton 125
8 Brendon Leitch 123
8 Pedro Piquet 123
10 Kami Laliberte 102