POLL: Who will challenge Triple Eight in 2017?

Gordon Lomas

Monday 19th December, 2016 - 10:00am


thumbBouncing back from defeat at the hands of Prodrive last season, Triple Eight again displayed the propensity to raise their game to a new level in 2016.

New signing Shane van Gisbergen uncorked a career defining season by winning eight races on his way to the Championship.

The squad lifted to a new high as it expanded to three cars to accommodate Van Gisbergen alongside incumbents Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes.

Whincup pushed the Kiwi star all the way and by the end of a long season had accumulated seven wins while the team’s veteran, Craig Lowndes won two races.

Claiming a total of 17 race victories in the 29-race season has put Triple Eight firmly back at the top of the Supercars tree.

The big question is, which one of Triple Eight’s rivals will put their hand up and try to wrestle back some of the advantage in 2017.

Will Prodrive be able to return to the consistency that supplied Mark Winterbottom with the title in 2015?

The looming threat of DJR Team Penske remains large with the team bolstered by the signing of GRM refugee Scott McLaughlin alongside Fabian Coulthard.

A lot is expected of the Queensland-based American-Australian organisation in 2017 which will embark on its third season under the majority ownership of US racing and business giant Roger Penske.

Or will a surprise threat come from Walkinshaw which will have a point to prove against the weight of being stripped of Holden backing and the HRT banner for the first time since the squad was founded in 1990?

Walkinshaw retains the 2010 series champ James Courtney’s services for 2017.

The Gold Coast-based driver will be joined by Garth Tander’s replacement, Scott Pye, who was cast aside from DJR Team Penske.

Or will Nissan finally emerge from the pack to cement itself as a contender as it welcomes Swiss ace Simona de Silvestro into its mix for a full-time tilt.

Have your say in who will pose the threat to Triple Eight in 2017?


Pirtek Poll